lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Jun]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH RFC 18/26] mips: Remove spin_unlock_wait() arch-specific definitions
Date
There is no agreed-upon definition of spin_unlock_wait()'s semantics,
and it appears that all callers could do just as well with a lock/unlock
pair. This commit therefore removes the underlying arch-specific
arch_spin_unlock_wait().

Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
---
arch/mips/include/asm/spinlock.h | 16 ----------------
1 file changed, 16 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/mips/include/asm/spinlock.h b/arch/mips/include/asm/spinlock.h
index a8df44d60607..81b4945031ee 100644
--- a/arch/mips/include/asm/spinlock.h
+++ b/arch/mips/include/asm/spinlock.h
@@ -50,22 +50,6 @@ static inline int arch_spin_value_unlocked(arch_spinlock_t lock)

#define arch_spin_lock_flags(lock, flags) arch_spin_lock(lock)

-static inline void arch_spin_unlock_wait(arch_spinlock_t *lock)
-{
- u16 owner = READ_ONCE(lock->h.serving_now);
- smp_rmb();
- for (;;) {
- arch_spinlock_t tmp = READ_ONCE(*lock);
-
- if (tmp.h.serving_now == tmp.h.ticket ||
- tmp.h.serving_now != owner)
- break;
-
- cpu_relax();
- }
- smp_acquire__after_ctrl_dep();
-}
-
static inline int arch_spin_is_contended(arch_spinlock_t *lock)
{
u32 counters = ACCESS_ONCE(lock->lock);
--
2.5.2
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-06-30 02:06    [W:0.263 / U:6.180 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site