lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Mar]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.10 047/167] mm: vmpressure: fix sending wrong events on underflow
Date
4.10-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Vinayak Menon <vinmenon@codeaurora.org>

commit e1587a4945408faa58d0485002c110eb2454740c upstream.

At the end of a window period, if the reclaimed pages is greater than
scanned, an unsigned underflow can result in a huge pressure value and
thus a critical event. Reclaimed pages is found to go higher than
scanned because of the addition of reclaimed slab pages to reclaimed in
shrink_node without a corresponding increment to scanned pages.

Minchan Kim mentioned that this can also happen in the case of a THP
page where the scanned is 1 and reclaimed could be 512.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1486641577-11685-1-git-send-email-vinmenon@codeaurora.org
Signed-off-by: Vinayak Menon <vinmenon@codeaurora.org>
Acked-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov.dev@gmail.com>
Cc: Anton Vorontsov <anton.vorontsov@linaro.org>
Cc: Shiraz Hashim <shashim@codeaurora.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
mm/vmpressure.c | 10 +++++++++-
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/mm/vmpressure.c
+++ b/mm/vmpressure.c
@@ -112,9 +112,16 @@ static enum vmpressure_levels vmpressure
unsigned long reclaimed)
{
unsigned long scale = scanned + reclaimed;
- unsigned long pressure;
+ unsigned long pressure = 0;

/*
+ * reclaimed can be greater than scanned in cases
+ * like THP, where the scanned is 1 and reclaimed
+ * could be 512
+ */
+ if (reclaimed >= scanned)
+ goto out;
+ /*
* We calculate the ratio (in percents) of how many pages were
* scanned vs. reclaimed in a given time frame (window). Note that
* time is in VM reclaimer's "ticks", i.e. number of pages
@@ -124,6 +131,7 @@ static enum vmpressure_levels vmpressure
pressure = scale - (reclaimed * scale / scanned);
pressure = pressure * 100 / scale;

+out:
pr_debug("%s: %3lu (s: %lu r: %lu)\n", __func__, pressure,
scanned, reclaimed);


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-03-10 11:21    [W:0.446 / U:4.280 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site