lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Dec]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 10/95] mm: fail get_vaddr_frames() for filesystem-dax mappings
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>

commit b7f0554a56f21fb3e636a627450a9add030889be upstream.

Until there is a solution to the dma-to-dax vs truncate problem it is
not safe to allow V4L2, Exynos, and other frame vector users to create
long standing / irrevocable memory registrations against filesytem-dax
vmas.

[dan.j.williams@intel.com: add comment for vma_is_fsdax() check in get_vaddr_frames(), per Jan]
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/151197874035.26211.4061781453123083667.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/151068939985.7446.15684639617389154187.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com
Fixes: 3565fce3a659 ("mm, x86: get_user_pages() for dax mappings")
Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Inki Dae <inki.dae@samsung.com>
Cc: Seung-Woo Kim <sw0312.kim@samsung.com>
Cc: Joonyoung Shim <jy0922.shim@samsung.com>
Cc: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
Cc: Hal Rosenstock <hal.rosenstock@gmail.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com>
Cc: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
mm/frame_vector.c | 12 ++++++++++++
1 file changed, 12 insertions(+)

--- a/mm/frame_vector.c
+++ b/mm/frame_vector.c
@@ -53,6 +53,18 @@ int get_vaddr_frames(unsigned long start
ret = -EFAULT;
goto out;
}
+
+ /*
+ * While get_vaddr_frames() could be used for transient (kernel
+ * controlled lifetime) pinning of memory pages all current
+ * users establish long term (userspace controlled lifetime)
+ * page pinning. Treat get_vaddr_frames() like
+ * get_user_pages_longterm() and disallow it for filesystem-dax
+ * mappings.
+ */
+ if (vma_is_fsdax(vma))
+ return -EOPNOTSUPP;
+
if (!(vma->vm_flags & (VM_IO | VM_PFNMAP))) {
vec->got_ref = true;
vec->is_pfns = false;

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-12-04 17:30    [W:0.178 / U:7.960 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site