lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Dec]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 26/74] x86/mm: Remove hard-coded ASID limit checks
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>

commit cb0a9144a744e55207e24dcef812f05cd15a499a upstream.

First, it's nice to remove the magic numbers.

Second, PAGE_TABLE_ISOLATION is going to consume half of the available ASID
space. The space is currently unused, but add a comment to spell out this
new restriction.

Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: aliguori@amazon.com
Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
Cc: hughd@google.com
Cc: keescook@google.com
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h | 20 ++++++++++++++++++--
1 file changed, 18 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h
@@ -69,6 +69,22 @@ static inline u64 inc_mm_tlb_gen(struct
return atomic64_inc_return(&mm->context.tlb_gen);
}

+/* There are 12 bits of space for ASIDS in CR3 */
+#define CR3_HW_ASID_BITS 12
+/*
+ * When enabled, PAGE_TABLE_ISOLATION consumes a single bit for
+ * user/kernel switches
+ */
+#define PTI_CONSUMED_ASID_BITS 0
+
+#define CR3_AVAIL_ASID_BITS (CR3_HW_ASID_BITS - PTI_CONSUMED_ASID_BITS)
+/*
+ * ASIDs are zero-based: 0->MAX_AVAIL_ASID are valid. -1 below to account
+ * for them being zero-based. Another -1 is because ASID 0 is reserved for
+ * use by non-PCID-aware users.
+ */
+#define MAX_ASID_AVAILABLE ((1 << CR3_AVAIL_ASID_BITS) - 2)
+
/*
* If PCID is on, ASID-aware code paths put the ASID+1 into the PCID bits.
* This serves two purposes. It prevents a nasty situation in which
@@ -81,7 +97,7 @@ struct pgd_t;
static inline unsigned long build_cr3(pgd_t *pgd, u16 asid)
{
if (static_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_PCID)) {
- VM_WARN_ON_ONCE(asid > 4094);
+ VM_WARN_ON_ONCE(asid > MAX_ASID_AVAILABLE);
return __sme_pa(pgd) | (asid + 1);
} else {
VM_WARN_ON_ONCE(asid != 0);
@@ -91,7 +107,7 @@ static inline unsigned long build_cr3(pg

static inline unsigned long build_cr3_noflush(pgd_t *pgd, u16 asid)
{
- VM_WARN_ON_ONCE(asid > 4094);
+ VM_WARN_ON_ONCE(asid > MAX_ASID_AVAILABLE);
return __sme_pa(pgd) | (asid + 1) | CR3_NOFLUSH;
}


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-12-27 18:03    [W:0.221 / U:0.348 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site