lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Dec]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 18/74] x86/doc: Remove obvious weirdnesses from the x86 MM layout documentation
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>

commit e8ffe96e5933d417195268478479933d56213a3f upstream.

Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: aliguori@amazon.com
Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
Cc: hughd@google.com
Cc: keescook@google.com
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
Documentation/x86/x86_64/mm.txt | 12 +++---------
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

--- a/Documentation/x86/x86_64/mm.txt
+++ b/Documentation/x86/x86_64/mm.txt
@@ -1,6 +1,4 @@

-<previous description obsolete, deleted>
-
Virtual memory map with 4 level page tables:

0000000000000000 - 00007fffffffffff (=47 bits) user space, different per mm
@@ -49,8 +47,9 @@ ffffffffffe00000 - ffffffffffffffff (=2

Architecture defines a 64-bit virtual address. Implementations can support
less. Currently supported are 48- and 57-bit virtual addresses. Bits 63
-through to the most-significant implemented bit are set to either all ones
-or all zero. This causes hole between user space and kernel addresses.
+through to the most-significant implemented bit are sign extended.
+This causes hole between user space and kernel addresses if you interpret them
+as unsigned.

The direct mapping covers all memory in the system up to the highest
memory address (this means in some cases it can also include PCI memory
@@ -60,9 +59,6 @@ vmalloc space is lazily synchronized int
the processes using the page fault handler, with init_top_pgt as
reference.

-Current X86-64 implementations support up to 46 bits of address space (64 TB),
-which is our current limit. This expands into MBZ space in the page tables.
-
We map EFI runtime services in the 'efi_pgd' PGD in a 64Gb large virtual
memory window (this size is arbitrary, it can be raised later if needed).
The mappings are not part of any other kernel PGD and are only available
@@ -74,5 +70,3 @@ following fixmap section.
Note that if CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_MEMORY is enabled, the direct mapping of all
physical memory, vmalloc/ioremap space and virtual memory map are randomized.
Their order is preserved but their base will be offset early at boot time.
-
--Andi Kleen, Jul 2004

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-12-27 17:58    [W:0.168 / U:4.872 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site