lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [26]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 14/43] x86/asm/64: Return to userspace from the trampoline stack

* Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> wrote:

> On Fri, Nov 24, 2017 at 06:23:42PM +0100, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> > From: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> >
> > By itself, this is useless. It gives us the ability to run some final
> > code before exit that cannnot run on the kernel stack. This could
> > include a CR3 switch a la KAISER or some kernel stack erasing, for
> > example. (Or even weird things like *changing* which kernel stack
> > gets used as an ASLR-strengthening mechanism.)
> >
> > The SYSRET32 path is not covered yet. It could be in the future or
> > we could just ignore it and force the slow path if needed.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> > Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> > Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de>
> > Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
> > Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
> > Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
> > Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> > Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> > Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/d350017000eed20922c3b2711a2d9229dc809256.1511497875.git.luto@kernel.org
> > Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> > ---
> > arch/x86/entry/entry_64.S | 55 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++----
> > 1 file changed, 51 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
>
> Nice commenting, future generations will appreciate it!
>
> :-)
>
> Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

Heh, indeed - if by 'future generations' you mean 'the guys who merge it,
a few months down the line'. ;-)

Thanks,

Ingo

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-26 15:19    [W:0.085 / U:0.504 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site