lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 19/43] x86/entry/64: Remove the SYSENTER stack canary
On Fri, Nov 24, 2017 at 06:23:47PM +0100, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> From: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
>
> Now that the SYSENTER stack has a guard page, there's no need for a
> canary to detect overflow after the fact.
>
> Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de>
> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/be3179c0a38c392fa44ebeb7dd89391ff5c010c3.1511497875.git.luto@kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> ---
> arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h | 1 -
> arch/x86/kernel/dumpstack.c | 3 +--
> arch/x86/kernel/process.c | 1 -
> arch/x86/kernel/traps.c | 7 -------
> 4 files changed, 1 insertion(+), 11 deletions(-)

Nice.

Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

--
Regards/Gruss,
Boris.

Good mailing practices for 400: avoid top-posting and trim the reply.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-25 16:30    [W:0.228 / U:2.476 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site