lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 17/43] x86/irq/64: In the stack overflow warning, print the offending IP
On Fri, Nov 24, 2017 at 06:23:45PM +0100, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> From: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
>
> In case something goes wrong with unwind (not unlikely in case of
> overflow), print the offending IP where we detected the overflow.
>
> Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de>
> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/6fcf700cc5ee884fb739b67d1246ab4185c41409.1511497875.git.luto@kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> ---
> arch/x86/kernel/irq_64.c | 4 ++--
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/irq_64.c b/arch/x86/kernel/irq_64.c
> index 020efbf5786b..d86e344f5b3d 100644
> --- a/arch/x86/kernel/irq_64.c
> +++ b/arch/x86/kernel/irq_64.c
> @@ -57,10 +57,10 @@ static inline void stack_overflow_check(struct pt_regs *regs)
> if (regs->sp >= estack_top && regs->sp <= estack_bottom)
> return;
>
> - WARN_ONCE(1, "do_IRQ(): %s has overflown the kernel stack (cur:%Lx,sp:%lx,irq stk top-bottom:%Lx-%Lx,exception stk top-bottom:%Lx-%Lx)\n",
> + WARN_ONCE(1, "do_IRQ(): %s has overflown the kernel stack (cur:%Lx,sp:%lx,irq stk top-bottom:%Lx-%Lx,exception stk top-bottom:%Lx-%Lx,ip:%pF)\n",
> current->comm, curbase, regs->sp,
> irq_stack_top, irq_stack_bottom,
> - estack_top, estack_bottom);
> + estack_top, estack_bottom, (void *)regs->ip);
>
> if (sysctl_panic_on_stackoverflow)
> panic("low stack detected by irq handler - check messages\n");
> --

Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

Also move to the beginning of the patchset.

--
Regards/Gruss,
Boris.

Good mailing practices for 400: avoid top-posting and trim the reply.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-25 13:08    [W:0.273 / U:0.688 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site