lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 09/43] x86/entry: Move SYSENTER_stack to the beginning of struct tss_struct
On Fri, Nov 24, 2017 at 10:14:14AM +0100, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> From: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
>
> SYSENTER_stack should have reliable overflow detection, which
> means that it needs to be at the bottom of a page, not the top.
> Move it to the beginning of struct tss_struct and page-align it.
>
> Also add an assertion to make sure that the fixed hardware TSS
> doesn't cross a page boundary.
>
> Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de>
> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/8de9901e7c3a6aa8fac95b37b9c7b96f1900f11a.1511497875.git.luto@kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> ---
> arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h | 21 ++++++++++++---------
> arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c | 21 +++++++++++++++++++++
> 2 files changed, 33 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

Thanks to tglx for clarifying the whole top and bottom meaning here for
me - I was confused.

--
Regards/Gruss,
Boris.

Good mailing practices for 400: avoid top-posting and trim the reply.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-24 12:45    [W:0.293 / U:0.540 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site