lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.4 11/16] arm64: fix dump_instr when PAN and UAO are in use
Date
4.4-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>

commit c5cea06be060f38e5400d796e61cfc8c36e52924 upstream.

If the kernel is set to show unhandled signals, and a user task does not
handle a SIGILL as a result of an instruction abort, we will attempt to
log the offending instruction with dump_instr before killing the task.

We use dump_instr to log the encoding of the offending userspace
instruction. However, dump_instr is also used to dump instructions from
kernel space, and internally always switches to KERNEL_DS before dumping
the instruction with get_user. When both PAN and UAO are in use, reading
a user instruction via get_user while in KERNEL_DS will result in a
permission fault, which leads to an Oops.

As we have regs corresponding to the context of the original instruction
abort, we can inspect this and only flip to KERNEL_DS if the original
abort was taken from the kernel, avoiding this issue. At the same time,
remove the redundant (and incorrect) comments regarding the order
dump_mem and dump_instr are called in.

Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Reported-by: Vladimir Murzin <vladimir.murzin@arm.com>
Tested-by: Vladimir Murzin <vladimir.murzin@arm.com>
Fixes: 57f4959bad0a154a ("arm64: kernel: Add support for User Access Override")
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/arm64/kernel/traps.c | 26 +++++++++++++-------------
1 file changed, 13 insertions(+), 13 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/traps.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/traps.c
@@ -64,8 +64,7 @@ static void dump_mem(const char *lvl, co

/*
* We need to switch to kernel mode so that we can use __get_user
- * to safely read from kernel space. Note that we now dump the
- * code first, just in case the backtrace kills us.
+ * to safely read from kernel space.
*/
fs = get_fs();
set_fs(KERNEL_DS);
@@ -111,21 +110,12 @@ static void dump_backtrace_entry(unsigne
print_ip_sym(where);
}

-static void dump_instr(const char *lvl, struct pt_regs *regs)
+static void __dump_instr(const char *lvl, struct pt_regs *regs)
{
unsigned long addr = instruction_pointer(regs);
- mm_segment_t fs;
char str[sizeof("00000000 ") * 5 + 2 + 1], *p = str;
int i;

- /*
- * We need to switch to kernel mode so that we can use __get_user
- * to safely read from kernel space. Note that we now dump the
- * code first, just in case the backtrace kills us.
- */
- fs = get_fs();
- set_fs(KERNEL_DS);
-
for (i = -4; i < 1; i++) {
unsigned int val, bad;

@@ -139,8 +129,18 @@ static void dump_instr(const char *lvl,
}
}
printk("%sCode: %s\n", lvl, str);
+}

- set_fs(fs);
+static void dump_instr(const char *lvl, struct pt_regs *regs)
+{
+ if (!user_mode(regs)) {
+ mm_segment_t fs = get_fs();
+ set_fs(KERNEL_DS);
+ __dump_instr(lvl, regs);
+ set_fs(fs);
+ } else {
+ __dump_instr(lvl, regs);
+ }
}

static void dump_backtrace(struct pt_regs *regs, struct task_struct *tsk)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-22 11:35    [W:0.154 / U:4.104 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site