lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [RFC] [PATCH] drm: adv7511/33: Fix adv7511_cec_init() failure handling
From
Date
On 11/20/2017 04:05 PM, Hans Verkuil wrote:
> On 11/17/2017 09:43 AM, Hans Verkuil wrote:
>> If the device tree for a board did not specify a cec clock, then
>> adv7511_cec_init would return an error, which would cause adv7511_probe()
>> to fail and thus there is no HDMI output.
>>
>> There is no need to have adv7511_probe() fail if the CEC initialization
>> fails, so just change adv7511_cec_init() to a void function. In addition,
>> adv7511_cec_init() should just return silently if the cec clock isn't
>> found and show a message for any other errors.
>>
>> An otherwise correct cleanup patch from Dan Carpenter turned this broken
>> failure handling into a kernel Oops, so bisection points to commit
>> 7af35b0addbc ("drm/kirin: Checking for IS_ERR() instead of NULL") rather
>> than 3b1b975003e4 ("drm: adv7511/33: add HDMI CEC support").
>>
>> Based on earlier patches from Arnd and John.
>>
>> Reported-by: Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Xinliang Liu <xinliang.liu@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
>> Cc: Sean Paul <seanpaul@chromium.org>
>> Cc: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>
>> Cc: Archit Taneja <architt@codeaurora.org>
>> Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
>> Link: https://bugs.linaro.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3345
>> Link: https://lkft.validation.linaro.org/scheduler/job/48017#L3551
>> Fixes: 7af35b0addbc ("drm/kirin: Checking for IS_ERR() instead of NULL")
>> Fixes: 3b1b975003e4 ("drm: adv7511/33: add HDMI CEC support")
>> Signed-off-by: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>
>
> I tested this patch on a Dragonboard and a Renesas Koelsch board. I also forced
> errors in parsing the dts or registering the CEC adapter to test those failure
> paths on both boards.
>
> So:
>
> Tested-by: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>

As far as I am concerned the [RFC] part can be dropped from this patch.

Regards,

Hans

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-20 16:07    [W:0.254 / U:0.124 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site