lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 55/83] perf machine: Guard against NULL in machine__exit()
Date
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

A recent fix for 'perf trace' introduced a bug where
machine__exit(trace->host) could be called while trace->host was still
NULL, so make this more robust by guarding against NULL, just like
free() does.

The problem happens, for instance, when !root users try to run 'perf
trace':

[acme@jouet linux]$ trace
Error: No permissions to read /sys/kernel/debug/tracing/events/raw_syscalls/sys_(enter|exit)
Hint: Try 'sudo mount -o remount,mode=755 /sys/kernel/debug/tracing'

perf: Segmentation fault
Obtained 7 stack frames.
[0x4f1b2e]
/lib64/libc.so.6(+0x3671f) [0x7f43a1dd971f]
[0x4f3fec]
[0x47468b]
[0x42a2db]
/lib64/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe9) [0x7f43a1dc3509]
[0x42a6c9]
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
[acme@jouet linux]$

Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrei Vagin <avagin@openvz.org>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Vasily Averin <vvs@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>
Fixes: 33974a414ce2 ("perf trace: Call machine__exit() at exit")
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/machine.c | 3 +++
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/machine.c b/tools/perf/util/machine.c
index 6a8d03c3d9b7..270f3223c6df 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/machine.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/machine.c
@@ -172,6 +172,9 @@ void machine__exit(struct machine *machine)
{
int i;

+ if (machine == NULL)
+ return;
+
machine__destroy_kernel_maps(machine);
map_groups__exit(&machine->kmaps);
dsos__exit(&machine->dsos);
--
2.13.6
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-17 21:33    [W:0.212 / U:1.700 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site