lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH] media: usbvision: remove unneeded DRIVER_LICENSE #define
From
Date
On 17/11/17 15:18, Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
> There is no need to #define the license of the driver, just put it in
> the MODULE_LICENSE() line directly as a text string.
>
> This allows tools that check that the module license matches the source
> code license to work properly, as there is no need to unwind the
> unneeded dereference.
>
> Cc: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@xs4all.nl>
> Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>
> Cc: Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org>
> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
> Cc: Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>
> Reported-by: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>
> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

Acked-by: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>

Thanks!

Hans

> ---
> drivers/media/usb/usbvision/usbvision-video.c | 3 +--
> 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/media/usb/usbvision/usbvision-video.c b/drivers/media/usb/usbvision/usbvision-video.c
> index 960272d3c924..0f5954a1fea2 100644
> --- a/drivers/media/usb/usbvision/usbvision-video.c
> +++ b/drivers/media/usb/usbvision/usbvision-video.c
> @@ -72,7 +72,6 @@
> #define DRIVER_NAME "usbvision"
> #define DRIVER_ALIAS "USBVision"
> #define DRIVER_DESC "USBVision USB Video Device Driver for Linux"
> -#define DRIVER_LICENSE "GPL"
> #define USBVISION_VERSION_STRING "0.9.11"
>
> #define ENABLE_HEXDUMP 0 /* Enable if you need it */
> @@ -141,7 +140,7 @@ MODULE_PARM_DESC(radio_nr, "Set radio device number (/dev/radioX). Default: -1
> /* Misc stuff */
> MODULE_AUTHOR(DRIVER_AUTHOR);
> MODULE_DESCRIPTION(DRIVER_DESC);
> -MODULE_LICENSE(DRIVER_LICENSE);
> +MODULE_LICENSE("GPL");
> MODULE_VERSION(USBVISION_VERSION_STRING);
> MODULE_ALIAS(DRIVER_ALIAS);
>
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-17 17:19    [W:0.051 / U:1.672 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site