lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC][PATCH] drm: adv7511/33: Fix adv7511_cec_init() failure handling
Date
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>

An otherwise correct cleanup patch from Dan Carpenter turned a broken
failure handling from a feature patch by Hans Verkuil into a kernel
Oops, so bisection points to commit 7af35b0addbc ("drm/kirin: Checking
for IS_ERR() instead of NULL") rather than 3b1b975003e4 ("drm:
adv7511/33: add HDMI CEC support").

I've managed to piece together several partial problems, though
I'm still struggling with the bigger picture:

adv7511_probe() registers a drm_bridge structure that was allocated
with devm_kzalloc(). It calls adv7511_cec_init(), which fails for an
unknown reason, which in turn triggers the registered structure to be
removed.

Elsewhere, kirin_drm_platform_probe() gets called, which calls
of_graph_get_remote_node(), and that returns NULL. Before Dan's
patch we would go on with a NULL pointer here and register that,
now kirin_drm_platform_probe() fails with -ENODEV.

In a third driver, dsi_parse_dt() calls drm_of_find_panel_or_bridge(),
which after not finding a panel goes on to call of_drm_find_bridge(),
and that crashes due to the earlier list corruption.

This addresses the first issue by making sure that adv7511_probe()
does not completely fail when the adv7511_cec_init() function fails,
and instead we just disable the CEC feature. This avoids having the
driver entirely fail to load if just the CEC initialization fails.

Reported-by: Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@linaro.org>
Cc: Xinliang Liu <xinliang.liu@linaro.org>
Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Cc: Sean Paul <seanpaul@chromium.org>
Cc: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>
Cc: Archit Taneja <architt@codeaurora.org>
Link: https://bugs.linaro.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3345
Link: https://lkft.validation.linaro.org/scheduler/job/48017#L3551
Fixes: 7af35b0addbc ("drm/kirin: Checking for IS_ERR() instead of NULL")
Fixes: 3b1b975003e4 ("drm: adv7511/33: add HDMI CEC support")
Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
[jstultz: Reworked so when adv7511_cec_init() fails, we disable the feature instead
of disabling the entire driver, which causes graphics to not funciton]
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
---
Just wanted to send out my rework of Arnd's patch here.
Feedback would be welcome.

thanks
-john

drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/adv7511/adv7511_drv.c | 8 ++++----
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/adv7511/adv7511_drv.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/adv7511/adv7511_drv.c
index 0e14f15..939c3b9 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/adv7511/adv7511_drv.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/adv7511/adv7511_drv.c
@@ -1203,12 +1203,12 @@ static int adv7511_probe(struct i2c_client *i2c, const struct i2c_device_id *id)

#ifdef CONFIG_DRM_I2C_ADV7511_CEC
ret = adv7511_cec_init(dev, adv7511, offset);
- if (ret)
- goto err_unregister_cec;
#else
- regmap_write(adv7511->regmap, ADV7511_REG_CEC_CTRL + offset,
- ADV7511_CEC_CTRL_POWER_DOWN);
+ ret = 1;
#endif
+ if (ret)
+ regmap_write(adv7511->regmap, ADV7511_REG_CEC_CTRL + offset,
+ ADV7511_CEC_CTRL_POWER_DOWN);

return 0;

--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-17 17:18    [W:0.128 / U:2.340 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site