lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH -mm] mm, pagemap: Fix soft dirty marking for PMD migration entry
Date
Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu> writes:

> Huang, Ying wrote:
>> "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name> writes:
>>
>>> On Tue, Oct 17, 2017 at 04:18:18PM +0800, Huang, Ying wrote:
>>>> From: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
>>>>
>>>> Now, when the page table is walked in the implementation of
>>>> /proc/<pid>/pagemap, pmd_soft_dirty() is used for both the PMD huge
>>>> page map and the PMD migration entries. That is wrong,
>>>> pmd_swp_soft_dirty() should be used for the PMD migration entries
>>>> instead because the different page table entry flag is used.
>>>>
>>>> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
>>>> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
>>>> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
>>>> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
>>>> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
>>>> Cc: "J.r.me Glisse" <jglisse@redhat.com>
>>>> Cc: Daniel Colascione <dancol@google.com>
>>>> Cc: Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>
>>>> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
>>>> Signed-off-by: "Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>
>>> What is effect of the misbehaviour? pagemap reports garbage?
>>
>> Yes. pagemap may report incorrect soft dirty information for PMD
>> migration entries.
>
> Thanks for fixing it.
>
>>
>>> Shoudn't it be in stable@? And maybe add Fixes: <sha1>.
>>
>> Yes. Will do that in the next version.
>
> PMD migration is merged in 4.14, which is not final yet. Do we need to
> split the patch, so that first hunk(for present PMD entries) goes into
> stable and second hunk(for PMD migration entries) goes into 4.14?

Oh, if so, I think we don't need to back port it to stable kernel. But
we still need Fixes: tag.

Best Regards,
Huang, Ying

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-17 15:55    [W:0.029 / U:4.240 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site