lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH] ACPI / APEI: Convert timers to use timer_setup()
From
Date
On 10/16/2017 7:21 PM, Kees Cook wrote:
> In preparation for unconditionally passing the struct timer_list pointer to
> all timer callbacks, switch to using the new timer_setup() and from_timer()
> to pass the timer pointer explicitly.
>
> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
> Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
> Cc: Tyler Baicar <tbaicar@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
> Cc: "Jonathan (Zhixiong) Zhang" <zjzhang@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Shiju Jose <shiju.jose@huawei.com>
> Cc: linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Tyler Baicar <tbaicar@codeaurora.org>

Verified that the polled error sources still work with this timer setup.

Thanks,
Tyler
> ---
> drivers/acpi/apei/ghes.c | 7 +++----
> 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/acpi/apei/ghes.c b/drivers/acpi/apei/ghes.c
> index 3c3a37b8503b..ebaa51ba8a22 100644
> --- a/drivers/acpi/apei/ghes.c
> +++ b/drivers/acpi/apei/ghes.c
> @@ -774,9 +774,9 @@ static void ghes_add_timer(struct ghes *ghes)
> add_timer(&ghes->timer);
> }
>
> -static void ghes_poll_func(unsigned long data)
> +static void ghes_poll_func(struct timer_list *t)
> {
> - struct ghes *ghes = (void *)data;
> + struct ghes *ghes = from_timer(ghes, t, timer);
>
> ghes_proc(ghes);
> if (!(ghes->flags & GHES_EXITING))
> @@ -1147,8 +1147,7 @@ static int ghes_probe(struct platform_device *ghes_dev)
>
> switch (generic->notify.type) {
> case ACPI_HEST_NOTIFY_POLLED:
> - setup_deferrable_timer(&ghes->timer, ghes_poll_func,
> - (unsigned long)ghes);
> + timer_setup(&ghes->timer, ghes_poll_func, TIMER_DEFERRABLE);
> ghes_add_timer(ghes);
> break;
> case ACPI_HEST_NOTIFY_EXTERNAL:

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-17 15:49    [W:0.034 / U:1.196 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site