lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[PATCH] Documentation: Add a file explaining the Linux kernel license
From: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

This adds a short document describing the views of how the Linux kernel
community feels about enforcing the license of the kernel.

Acked-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Acked-by: Alex Elder (Linaro) <elder@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Andy Gross <andy.gross@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Anna Schumaker <schumaker.anna@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Acked-by: Arvind Yadav <arvind.yadav.cs@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@wdc.com>
Acked-by: Bhumika Goyal <bhumirks@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Acked-by: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Christian König <christian.koenig@amd.com>
Acked-by: Christophe JAILLET <christophe.jaillet@wanadoo.fr>
Acked-by: Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
Acked-by: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
Acked-by: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Acked-by: Darrick J. Wong (Oracle) <darrick.wong@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Darrick J. Wong <djwong@kernel.org>
Acked-by: David Kershner <david.kershner@unisys.com>
Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Acked-by: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Florian Westphal <fw@strlen.de>
Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Acked-by: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
Acked-by: Hannes Reinecke <hare@suse.com>
Acked-by: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>
Acked-by: Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Ivan Safonov <insafonov@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Jan Kara (SUSE) <jack@suse.cz>
Acked-by: Javier Martinez Canillas <javier@dowhile0.org>
Acked-by: Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
Acked-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Acked-by: Jes Sorensen <Jes.Sorensen@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Acked-by: Jiri Pirko <jiri@resnulli.us>
Acked-by: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Acked-by: Joerg Roedel (SUSE) <jroedel@suse.de>
Acked-by: Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Acked-by: Julia Lawall <Julia.Lawall@lip6.fr>
Acked-by: K. Y. Srinivasan <kys@microsoft.com>
Acked-by: Khalid Aziz <khalid@gonehiking.org>
Acked-by: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Kuninori Morimoto <kuninori.morimoto.gx@renesas.com>
Acked-by: Larry Finger <Larry.Finger@lwfinger.net>
Acked-by: Laura Abbott <laura@labbott.name>
Acked-by: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Leon Romanovsky <leon@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Linus Walleij (Linaro) <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Lv Zheng <zetalog@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Martin K. Petersen (Oracle) <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
Acked-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Acked-by: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Acked-by: Mike Marshall <hubcap@omnibond.com>
Acked-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>
Acked-by: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
Acked-by: Pablo Neira Ayuso <pablo@netfilter.org>
Acked-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Acked-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Acked-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Acked-by: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Acked-by: Rob Clark <robdclark@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Sebastian Reichel (Collabora) <sre@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Shuah Khan <shuahkh@osg.samsung.com>
Acked-by: Simon Horman <horms@verge.net.au>
Acked-by: Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Acked-by: Sven Eckelmann <sven@narfation.org>
Acked-by: Takashi Iwai (SUSE) <tiwai@suse.de>
Acked-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Tony Luck <tony.luck@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@savoirfairelinux.com>
Acked-by: Wei Yongjun <weiyongjun1@huawei.com>
Acked-by: Xin Long <lucien.xin@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
Documentation/process/index.rst | 1 +
.../process/kernel-enforcement-statement.rst | 147 +++++++++++++++++++++
2 files changed, 148 insertions(+)
create mode 100644 Documentation/process/kernel-enforcement-statement.rst

diff --git a/Documentation/process/index.rst b/Documentation/process/index.rst
index 82fc399fcd33..61e43cc3ed17 100644
--- a/Documentation/process/index.rst
+++ b/Documentation/process/index.rst
@@ -25,6 +25,7 @@ Below are the essential guides that every developer should read.
submitting-patches
coding-style
email-clients
+ kernel-enforcement-statement

Other guides to the community that are of interest to most developers are:

diff --git a/Documentation/process/kernel-enforcement-statement.rst b/Documentation/process/kernel-enforcement-statement.rst
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..1e23d4227337
--- /dev/null
+++ b/Documentation/process/kernel-enforcement-statement.rst
@@ -0,0 +1,147 @@
+Linux Kernel Enforcement Statement
+----------------------------------
+
+As developers of the Linux kernel, we have a keen interest in how our software
+is used and how the license for our software is enforced. Compliance with the
+reciprocal sharing obligations of GPL-2.0 is critical to the long-term
+sustainability of our software and community.
+
+Although there is a right to enforce the separate copyright interests in the
+contributions made to our community, we share an interest in ensuring that
+individual enforcement actions are conducted in a manner that benefits our
+community and do not have an unintended negative impact on the health and
+growth of our software ecosystem. In order to deter unhelpful enforcement
+actions, we agree that it is in the best interests of our development
+community to undertake the following commitment to users of the Linux kernel
+on behalf of ourselves and any successors to our copyright interests:
+
+ Notwithstanding the termination provisions of the GPL-2.0, we agree that
+ it is in the best interests of our development community to adopt the
+ following provisions of GPL-3.0 as additional permissions under our
+ license with respect to any non-defensive assertion of rights under the
+ license.
+
+ However, if you cease all violation of this License, then your license
+ from a particular copyright holder is reinstated (a) provisionally,
+ unless and until the copyright holder explicitly and finally
+ terminates your license, and (b) permanently, if the copyright holder
+ fails to notify you of the violation by some reasonable means prior to
+ 60 days after the cessation.
+
+ Moreover, your license from a particular copyright holder is
+ reinstated permanently if the copyright holder notifies you of the
+ violation by some reasonable means, this is the first time you have
+ received notice of violation of this License (for any work) from that
+ copyright holder, and you cure the violation prior to 30 days after
+ your receipt of the notice.
+
+Our intent in providing these assurances is to encourage more use of the
+software. We want companies and individuals to use, modify and distribute
+this software. We want to work with users in an open and transparent way to
+eliminate any uncertainty about our expectations regarding compliance or
+enforcement that might limit adoption of our software. We view legal action
+as a last resort, to be initiated only when other community efforts have
+failed to resolve the problem.
+
+Finally, once a non-compliance issue is resolved, we hope the user will feel
+welcome to join us in our efforts on this project. Working together, we will
+be stronger.
+
+Except where noted below, we speak only for ourselves, and not for any company
+we might work for today, have in the past, or will in the future.
+
+ - Bjorn Andersson (Linaro)
+ - Andrea Arcangeli (Red Hat)
+ - Neil Armstrong
+ - Jens Axboe
+ - Pablo Neira Ayuso
+ - Khalid Aziz
+ - Ralf Baechle
+ - Felipe Balbi
+ - Arnd Bergmann
+ - Ard Biesheuvel
+ - Paolo Bonzini (Red Hat)
+ - Christian Borntraeger
+ - Mark Brown (Linaro)
+ - Paul Burton
+ - Javier Martinez Canillas
+ - Rob Clark
+ - Jonathan Corbet
+ - Vivien Didelot (Savoir-faire Linux)
+ - Hans de Goede (Red Hat)
+ - Mel Gorman (SUSE)
+ - Sven Eckelmann
+ - Alex Elder (Linaro)
+ - Fabio Estevam
+ - Larry Finger
+ - Bhumika Goyal
+ - Andy Gross
+ - Juergen Gross
+ - Shawn Guo
+ - Ulf Hansson
+ - Tejun Heo
+ - Rob Herring
+ - Masami Hiramatsu
+ - Michal Hocko
+ - Simon Horman
+ - Johan Hovold (Hovold Consulting AB)
+ - Christophe JAILLET
+ - Olof Johansson
+ - Lee Jones (Linaro)
+ - Heiner Kallweit
+ - Srinivas Kandagatla
+ - Jan Kara
+ - Shuah Khan (Samsung)
+ - David Kershner
+ - Jaegeuk Kim
+ - Namhyung Kim
+ - Colin Ian King
+ - Jeff Kirsher
+ - Greg Kroah-Hartman (Linux Foundation)
+ - Christian König
+ - Vinod Koul
+ - Krzysztof Kozlowski
+ - Viresh Kumar
+ - Aneesh Kumar K.V
+ - Julia Lawall
+ - Doug Ledford (Red Hat)
+ - Chuck Lever (Oracle)
+ - Daniel Lezcano
+ - Shaohua Li
+ - Xin Long (Red Hat)
+ - Tony Luck
+ - Mike Marshall
+ - Chris Mason
+ - Paul E. McKenney
+ - David S. Miller
+ - Ingo Molnar
+ - Kuninori Morimoto
+ - Borislav Petkov
+ - Jiri Pirko
+ - Josh Poimboeuf
+ - Sebastian Reichel (Collabora)
+ - Guenter Roeck
+ - Joerg Roedel
+ - Leon Romanovsky
+ - Steven Rostedt (VMware)
+ - Ivan Safonov
+ - Ivan Safonov
+ - Anna Schumaker
+ - Jes Sorensen
+ - K.Y. Srinivasan
+ - Heiko Stuebner
+ - Jiri Kosina (SUSE)
+ - Dmitry Torokhov
+ - Linus Torvalds
+ - Thierry Reding
+ - Rik van Riel
+ - Geert Uytterhoeven (Glider bvba)
+ - Daniel Vetter
+ - Linus Walleij
+ - Richard Weinberger
+ - Dan Williams
+ - Rafael J. Wysocki
+ - Arvind Yadav
+ - Masahiro Yamada
+ - Wei Yongjun
+ - Lv Zheng
--
2.14.2
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-16 11:28    [W:0.081 / U:0.108 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site