lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Aug]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/core] perf/core: Check return value of the perf_event_read() IPI
Commit-ID:  71e7bc2bab77e64882c031c2af943c3256c1adb0
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/71e7bc2bab77e64882c031c2af943c3256c1adb0
Author: David Carrillo-Cisneros <davidcc@google.com>
AuthorDate: Wed, 17 Aug 2016 13:55:04 -0700
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Thu, 18 Aug 2016 10:35:52 +0200

perf/core: Check return value of the perf_event_read() IPI

The call to smp_call_function_single in perf_event_read() may fail if
an invalid or not online CPU index is passed. Warn user if such bug is
present and return error.

Signed-off-by: David Carrillo-Cisneros <davidcc@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@gmail.com>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1471467307-61171-2-git-send-email-davidcc@google.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/events/core.c | 7 ++++---
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index a5fc5c8..5650f53 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -3549,9 +3549,10 @@ static int perf_event_read(struct perf_event *event, bool group)
.group = group,
.ret = 0,
};
- smp_call_function_single(event->oncpu,
- __perf_event_read, &data, 1);
- ret = data.ret;
+ ret = smp_call_function_single(event->oncpu, __perf_event_read, &data, 1);
+ /* The event must have been read from an online CPU: */
+ WARN_ON_ONCE(ret);
+ ret = ret ? : data.ret;
} else if (event->state == PERF_EVENT_STATE_INACTIVE) {
struct perf_event_context *ctx = event->ctx;
unsigned long flags;
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-09-17 09:57    [W:0.113 / U:3.888 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site