lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Aug]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/urgent] x86/platform/UV: Fix kernel panic running RHEL kdump kernel on UV systems
Commit-ID:  5a52e8f822374bebc702bb2688ed8b5515bbb55b
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/5a52e8f822374bebc702bb2688ed8b5515bbb55b
Author: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 1 Aug 2016 13:40:53 -0500
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Wed, 10 Aug 2016 15:55:39 +0200

x86/platform/UV: Fix kernel panic running RHEL kdump kernel on UV systems

The latest UV kernel support panics when RHEL7 kexec's the kdump kernel
to make a dumpfile. This patch fixes the problem by turning off all UV
support if NUMA is off.

Tested-by: Frank Ramsay <framsay@sgi.com>
Tested-by: John Estabrook <estabrook@sgi.com>
Signed-off-by: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com>
Reviewed-by: Dimitri Sivanich <sivanich@sgi.com>
Reviewed-by: Nathan Zimmer <nzimmer@sgi.com>
Cc: Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com>
Cc: Andrew Banman <abanman@sgi.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Russ Anderson <rja@sgi.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160801184050.577755634@asylum.americas.sgi.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c | 5 +++++
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c b/arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c
index 6aa0545..cb0673c 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c
@@ -223,6 +223,11 @@ static int __init uv_acpi_madt_oem_check(char *oem_id, char *oem_table_id)
if (strncmp(oem_id, "SGI", 3) != 0)
return 0;

+ if (numa_off) {
+ pr_err("UV: NUMA is off, disabling UV support\n");
+ return 0;
+ }
+
/* Setup early hub type field in uv_hub_info for Node 0 */
uv_cpu_info->p_uv_hub_info = &uv_hub_info_node0;

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-08-10 23:21    [W:0.060 / U:6.224 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site