lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Aug]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/mm] x86/mm/KASLR: Fix physical memory calculation on KASLR memory randomization
Commit-ID:  c7d2361f7524f365c1ae42f47880e3fa9efb2c2a
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/c7d2361f7524f365c1ae42f47880e3fa9efb2c2a
Author: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>
AuthorDate: Tue, 9 Aug 2016 10:11:04 -0700
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Wed, 10 Aug 2016 14:45:19 +0200

x86/mm/KASLR: Fix physical memory calculation on KASLR memory randomization

Initialize KASLR memory randomization after max_pfn is initialized. Also
ensure the size is rounded up. It could create problems on machines
with more than 1Tb of memory on certain random addresses.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>
Cc: Aleksey Makarov <aleksey.makarov@linaro.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Fabian Frederick <fabf@skynet.be>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Lv Zheng <lv.zheng@intel.com>
Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rafael J . Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com>
Cc: kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com
Fixes: 021182e52fe0 ("Enable KASLR for physical mapping memory regions")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1470762665-88032-1-git-send-email-thgarnie@google.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/kernel/setup.c | 8 ++++++--
arch/x86/mm/kaslr.c | 2 +-
2 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/setup.c b/arch/x86/kernel/setup.c
index 991b779..95cf31c 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/setup.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/setup.c
@@ -936,8 +936,6 @@ void __init setup_arch(char **cmdline_p)

x86_init.oem.arch_setup();

- kernel_randomize_memory();
-
iomem_resource.end = (1ULL << boot_cpu_data.x86_phys_bits) - 1;
setup_memory_map();
parse_setup_data();
@@ -1055,6 +1053,12 @@ void __init setup_arch(char **cmdline_p)

max_possible_pfn = max_pfn;

+ /*
+ * Define random base addresses for memory sections after max_pfn is
+ * defined and before each memory section base is used.
+ */
+ kernel_randomize_memory();
+
#ifdef CONFIG_X86_32
/* max_low_pfn get updated here */
find_low_pfn_range();
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/kaslr.c b/arch/x86/mm/kaslr.c
index 26dccd6..ec8654f 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/kaslr.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/kaslr.c
@@ -97,7 +97,7 @@ void __init kernel_randomize_memory(void)
* add padding if needed (especially for memory hotplug support).
*/
BUG_ON(kaslr_regions[0].base != &page_offset_base);
- memory_tb = ((max_pfn << PAGE_SHIFT) >> TB_SHIFT) +
+ memory_tb = DIV_ROUND_UP(max_pfn << PAGE_SHIFT, 1UL << TB_SHIFT) +
CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_MEMORY_PHYSICAL_PADDING;

/* Adapt phyiscal memory region size based on available memory */
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-08-10 20:41    [W:0.055 / U:7.144 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site