lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Jul]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] x86/perf/intel/rapl: Fix module name collision with powercap intel-rapl
On Thu, Jun 23, 2016 at 06:06:49PM +0300, ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com wrote:
> From: Ville Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
>
> Since commit 4b6e2571bf00 ("x86/perf/intel/rapl: Make the Intel RAPL PMU driver modular")
> the rapl perf module calls itself intel-rapl. That name was
> already in use by the rapl powercap driver, which now fails to
> load if the perf module is loaded. Fix the problem by renaming the
> perf module to intel-rapl-perf, so that both modules can coexist.

Ping?

>
> Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
> Fixes: 4b6e2571bf00 ("x86/perf/intel/rapl: Make the Intel RAPL PMU driver modular")
> Signed-off-by: Ville Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
> ---
> arch/x86/events/intel/Makefile | 4 ++--
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/arch/x86/events/intel/Makefile b/arch/x86/events/intel/Makefile
> index 3660b2cf245a..06c2baa51814 100644
> --- a/arch/x86/events/intel/Makefile
> +++ b/arch/x86/events/intel/Makefile
> @@ -1,8 +1,8 @@
> obj-$(CONFIG_CPU_SUP_INTEL) += core.o bts.o cqm.o
> obj-$(CONFIG_CPU_SUP_INTEL) += ds.o knc.o
> obj-$(CONFIG_CPU_SUP_INTEL) += lbr.o p4.o p6.o pt.o
> -obj-$(CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS_INTEL_RAPL) += intel-rapl.o
> -intel-rapl-objs := rapl.o
> +obj-$(CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS_INTEL_RAPL) += intel-rapl-perf.o
> +intel-rapl-perf-objs := rapl.o
> obj-$(CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS_INTEL_UNCORE) += intel-uncore.o
> intel-uncore-objs := uncore.o uncore_nhmex.o uncore_snb.o uncore_snbep.o
> obj-$(CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS_INTEL_CSTATE) += intel-cstate.o
> --
> 2.7.4

--
Ville Syrjälä
Intel OTC

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-07-06 11:41    [W:0.035 / U:39.104 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site