lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Jul]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 3.12 12/88] perf/x86: Fix undefined shift on 32-bit kernels
Date
From: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>

3.12-stable review patch. If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

===============

commit 6d6f2833bfbf296101f9f085e10488aef2601ba5 upstream.

Jim reported:

UBSAN: Undefined behaviour in arch/x86/events/intel/core.c:3708:12
shift exponent 35 is too large for 32-bit type 'long unsigned int'

The use of 'unsigned long' type obviously is not correct here, make it
'unsigned long long' instead.

Reported-by: Jim Cromie <jim.cromie@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Imre Palik <imrep@amazon.de>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Fixes: 2c33645d366d ("perf/x86: Honor the architectural performance monitoring version")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1462974711-10037-1-git-send-email-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Kevin Christopher <kevinc@vmware.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
---
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_intel.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_intel.c b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_intel.c
index 491d6813ea3f..04e7df068f0e 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_intel.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_intel.c
@@ -2543,7 +2543,7 @@ __init int intel_pmu_init(void)
c->idxmsk64 |= (1ULL << x86_pmu.num_counters) - 1;
}
c->idxmsk64 &=
- ~(~0UL << (INTEL_PMC_IDX_FIXED + x86_pmu.num_counters_fixed));
+ ~(~0ULL << (INTEL_PMC_IDX_FIXED + x86_pmu.num_counters_fixed));
c->weight = hweight64(c->idxmsk64);
}
}
--
2.9.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-07-14 11:21    [W:0.250 / U:16.080 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site