lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Jul]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH 23/32] x86/intel_rdt.c: Extend RDT to per cache and per resources
Date
> From: Thomas Gleixner [mailto:tglx@linutronix.de]
> Sent: Wednesday, July 13, 2016 6:07 AM
> To: Yu, Fenghua <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>; Anvin, H Peter
> <h.peter.anvin@intel.com>; Luck, Tony <tony.luck@intel.com>; Tejun Heo
> <tj@kernel.org>; Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>; Stephane Eranian
> <eranian@google.com>; Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>; Marcelo
> Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>; David Carrillo-Cisneros
> <davidcc@google.com>; Shankar, Ravi V <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>; Vikas
> Shivappa <vikas.shivappa@linux.intel.com>; Prakhya, Sai Praneeth
> <sai.praneeth.prakhya@intel.com>; linux-kernel <linux-
> kernel@vger.kernel.org>; x86 <x86@kernel.org>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 23/32] x86/intel_rdt.c: Extend RDT to per cache and per
> resources
>
> On Tue, 12 Jul 2016, Fenghua Yu wrote:
>
> > From: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
> >
> > QoS mask MSRs array is per cache. We need to allocate CLOSID per cache
> > instead global CLOSID.
> >
> > A few different resources can share same QoS mask MSRs array. For
> > example, one L2 cache can share QoS MSRs with its next level
> > L3 cache. A domain number represents the L2 cache, the L3 cache, the
> > L2 cache's shared cpumask, and the L3 cache's shared cpumask.
> >
> > cctable is extended to be index by domain number so that each cache
> > has its own control table.
> >
> > shared_domain is introduced to cover multiple resources sharing
> > CLOSID.
>
> This patch does a dozen different things at once. Can you please split the
> cleanup parts, the parts where statics are removed and the actual changes in
> the representation model apart so this can be reviewed?
>
> And while at this, please fold back thes cleanups into the original patches.
> There is no point to have these changes seperate.

Sure. Will do this.

Thanks.

-Fenghua

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-07-13 20:21    [W:0.072 / U:4.728 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site