lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Jul]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/asm] x86/entry: Inline enter_from_user_mode()
Commit-ID:  be8a18e2e98e04a5def5887d913b267865562448
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/be8a18e2e98e04a5def5887d913b267865562448
Author: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 20 Jun 2016 16:58:30 +0200
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Sun, 10 Jul 2016 13:33:02 +0200

x86/entry: Inline enter_from_user_mode()

This matches what is already done for prepare_exit_to_usermode(),
and saves about 60 clock cycles (4% speedup) with the benchmark
in the previous commit message.

Signed-off-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1466434712-31440-3-git-send-email-pbonzini@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/entry/common.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/entry/common.c b/arch/x86/entry/common.c
index 618bc61..9e1e27d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/entry/common.c
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/common.c
@@ -40,7 +40,7 @@ static struct thread_info *pt_regs_to_thread_info(struct pt_regs *regs)

#ifdef CONFIG_CONTEXT_TRACKING
/* Called on entry from user mode with IRQs off. */
-__visible void enter_from_user_mode(void)
+__visible inline void enter_from_user_mode(void)
{
CT_WARN_ON(ct_state() != CONTEXT_USER);
user_exit_irqoff();
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-07-10 14:21    [W:0.150 / U:1.652 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site