lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Jun]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH RESEND 1/3] dt-bindings: add bindings documentation for PDC driver.
From
Date


On 16/06/16 14:50, Rob Rice wrote:
>
>
> On Tue, Jun 14, 2016 at 10:42 AM, Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com
> <mailto:sudeep.holla@arm.com>> wrote:
>
>
>
> On 14/06/16 15:02, Rob Rice wrote:
>
> From: Rob Rice <rrice@broadcom.com <mailto:rrice@broadcom.com>>
>
> Add the device tree binding documentation for the PDC hardware
> in Broadcom iProc SoCs.
>
> Signed-off-by: Rob Rice <rob.rice@broadcom.com
> <mailto:rob.rice@broadcom.com>>
> Acked-by: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org <mailto:robh@kernel.org>>
> Reviewed-by: Ray Jui <ray.jui@broadcom.com
> <mailto:ray.jui@broadcom.com>>
> Reviewed-by: Anup Patel <anup.patel@broadcom.com
> <mailto:anup.patel@broadcom.com>>
> Reviewed-by: Scott Branden <scott.branden@broadcom.com
> <mailto:scott.branden@broadcom.com>>
> ---
> .../bindings/mailbox/brcm,iproc-pdc-mbox.txt | 23
> ++++++++++++++++++++++
> 1 file changed, 23 insertions(+)
> create mode 100644
> Documentation/devicetree/bindings/mailbox/brcm,iproc-pdc-mbox.txt
>
> diff --git
> a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/mailbox/brcm,iproc-pdc-mbox.txt
> b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/mailbox/brcm,iproc-pdc-mbox.txt
> new file mode 100644
> index 0000000..411ccf4
> --- /dev/null
> +++
> b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/mailbox/brcm,iproc-pdc-mbox.txt
> @@ -0,0 +1,23 @@
> +The PDC driver manages data transfer to and from various
> offload engines
> +on some Broadcom SoCs. An SoC may have multiple PDC hardware
> blocks. There is
> +one device tree entry per block.
> +
> +Required properties:
> +- compatible : Should be "brcm,iproc-pdc-mbox".
> +- reg: Should contain PDC registers location and length.
> +- interrupts: Should contain the IRQ line for the PDC.
> +- #mbox-cells: 1
> +- brcm,rx-status-len: Length of metadata preceding received
> frames, in bytes.
> +
>
>
> Ideally the metadata is more associated with the software protocol built
> on top of the mailbox controller.
>
> Is this metadata added by the hardware ?
>
> Otherwise it's better to make it part of the protocol rather than the
> associating with the controller.
>
>
> Yes, in fact this metadata is added by the PDC hardware itself. So it
> seems correct for the DT property to be on the controller.

In that case, it's fine.

--
Regards,
Sudeep

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-06-16 16:21    [W:0.071 / U:0.764 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site