lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Apr]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 2/3] e1000e: e1000e_cyclecounter_read(): fix er32(SYSTIML) overflow check
Date
If two consecutive reads of the counter are the same, it is also not an overflow.
"systimel_1 < systimel_2" should be "systimel_1 <= systimel_2".

Before the patch, we could perform an *erroneous* correction:

Let's say that systimel_1 == systimel_2 == 0xffffffff.
"systimel_1 < systimel_2" is false, we think it's an overflow,
we read "systimeh = er32(SYSTIMH)" which meanwhile had incremented,
and use "(systimeh << 32) + systimel_2" value which is 2^32 too large.

Signed-off-by: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
CC: Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
CC: Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>
CC: Shannon Nelson <shannon.nelson@intel.com>
CC: Carolyn Wyborny <carolyn.wyborny@intel.com>
CC: Don Skidmore <donald.c.skidmore@intel.com>
CC: Bruce Allan <bruce.w.allan@intel.com>
CC: John Ronciak <john.ronciak@intel.com>
CC: Mitch Williams <mitch.a.williams@intel.com>
CC: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
CC: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
CC: netdev@vger.kernel.org
---
drivers/net/ethernet/intel/e1000e/netdev.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/e1000e/netdev.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/e1000e/netdev.c
index 967311b..99d0e6e 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/e1000e/netdev.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/e1000e/netdev.c
@@ -4287,7 +4287,7 @@ static cycle_t e1000e_cyclecounter_read(const struct cyclecounter *cc)
systimeh = er32(SYSTIMH);
systimel_2 = er32(SYSTIML);
/* Check for overflow. If there was no overflow, use the values */
- if (systimel_1 < systimel_2) {
+ if (systimel_1 <= systimel_2) {
systim = (cycle_t)systimel_1;
systim |= (cycle_t)systimeh << 32;
} else {
--
1.8.1.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-04-19 15:01    [W:0.029 / U:0.024 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site