lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Feb]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/mm] x86/mm: If INVPCID is available, use it to flush global mappings
Commit-ID:  d8bced79af1db6734f66b42064cc773cada2ce99
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/d8bced79af1db6734f66b42064cc773cada2ce99
Author: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
AuthorDate: Fri, 29 Jan 2016 11:42:59 -0800
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 9 Feb 2016 13:36:11 +0100

x86/mm: If INVPCID is available, use it to flush global mappings

On my Skylake laptop, INVPCID function 2 (flush absolutely
everything) takes about 376ns, whereas saving flags, twiddling
CR4.PGE to flush global mappings, and restoring flags takes about
539ns.

Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@suse.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/ed0ef62581c0ea9c99b9bf6df726015e96d44743.1454096309.git.luto@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h | 9 +++++++++
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h
index 8b57683..fc9a2fd 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h
@@ -152,6 +152,15 @@ static inline void __native_flush_tlb_global(void)
{
unsigned long flags;

+ if (static_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_INVPCID)) {
+ /*
+ * Using INVPCID is considerably faster than a pair of writes
+ * to CR4 sandwiched inside an IRQ flag save/restore.
+ */
+ invpcid_flush_all();
+ return;
+ }
+
/*
* Read-modify-write to CR4 - protect it from preemption and
* from interrupts. (Use the raw variant because this code can
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-02-09 17:41    [W:0.121 / U:4.588 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site