lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Feb]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/fpu] x86/fpu: Fix FNSAVE usage in eagerfpu mode
Commit-ID:  5ed73f40735c68d8a656b46d09b1885d3b8740ae
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/5ed73f40735c68d8a656b46d09b1885d3b8740ae
Author: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
AuthorDate: Sun, 24 Jan 2016 14:38:07 -0800
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 9 Feb 2016 15:42:55 +0100

x86/fpu: Fix FNSAVE usage in eagerfpu mode

In eager fpu mode, having deactivated FPU without immediately
reloading some other context is illegal. Therefore, to recover from
FNSAVE, we can't just deactivate the state -- we need to reload it
if we're not actively context switching.

We had this wrong in fpu__save() and fpu__copy(). Fix both.
__kernel_fpu_begin() was fine -- add a comment.

This fixes a warning triggerable with nofxsr eagerfpu=on.

Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Quentin Casasnovas <quentin.casasnovas@oracle.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Sai Praneeth Prakhya <sai.praneeth.prakhya@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: yu-cheng yu <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/60662444e13c76f06e23c15c5dcdba31b4ac3d67.1453675014.git.luto@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c | 18 +++++++++++++++---
1 file changed, 15 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c b/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c
index 08e1e11..7a9244d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/fpu/core.c
@@ -114,6 +114,10 @@ void __kernel_fpu_begin(void)
kernel_fpu_disable();

if (fpu->fpregs_active) {
+ /*
+ * Ignore return value -- we don't care if reg state
+ * is clobbered.
+ */
copy_fpregs_to_fpstate(fpu);
} else {
this_cpu_write(fpu_fpregs_owner_ctx, NULL);
@@ -189,8 +193,12 @@ void fpu__save(struct fpu *fpu)

preempt_disable();
if (fpu->fpregs_active) {
- if (!copy_fpregs_to_fpstate(fpu))
- fpregs_deactivate(fpu);
+ if (!copy_fpregs_to_fpstate(fpu)) {
+ if (use_eager_fpu())
+ copy_kernel_to_fpregs(&fpu->state);
+ else
+ fpregs_deactivate(fpu);
+ }
}
preempt_enable();
}
@@ -259,7 +267,11 @@ static void fpu_copy(struct fpu *dst_fpu, struct fpu *src_fpu)
preempt_disable();
if (!copy_fpregs_to_fpstate(dst_fpu)) {
memcpy(&src_fpu->state, &dst_fpu->state, xstate_size);
- fpregs_deactivate(src_fpu);
+
+ if (use_eager_fpu())
+ copy_kernel_to_fpregs(&src_fpu->state);
+ else
+ fpregs_deactivate(src_fpu);
}
preempt_enable();
}
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-02-09 17:21    [W:0.136 / U:4.116 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site