lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Feb]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] PCI: ACPI: IA64: fix IO port generic range check
Hi,

On Mon, Feb 01, 2016 at 07:36:57PM +0800, Hanjun Guo wrote:
> On 2016/2/1 18:25, Lorenzo Pieralisi wrote:
> >The [0 - 64k] ACPI PCI IO port resource boundary check in:
> >
> >acpi_dev_ioresource_flags()
> >
> >is currently applied blindly in the ACPI resource parsing to all
> >architectures, but only x86 suffers from that IO space limitation.
> >The check in generic ACPI code leaves other arches (ie IA64) IO space
> >broken (ie kernel can't claim IO resources since the host bridge
> >IO resource is disabled and discarded by ACPI core code, eg log on
> >IA64):
> >
> >pci 0000:00:03.0: [1002:515e] type 00 class 0x030000
> >
> >pci 0000:00:03.0: reg 0x10: [mem 0x80000000-0x87ffffff pref]
> >
> >pci 0000:00:03.0: reg 0x14: [io 0x1000-0x10ff]
> >
> >pci 0000:00:03.0: reg 0x18: [mem 0x88020000-0x8802ffff]
> >
> >pci 0000:00:03.0: reg 0x30: [mem 0x88000000-0x8801ffff pref]
> >
> >pci 0000:00:03.0: supports D1 D2
> >
> >pci 0000:00:03.0: can't claim BAR 1 [io 0x1000-0x10ff]: no compatible
> >bridge window
> >
> >For this reason, the IO port resources boundaries check in generic ACPI
> >parsing code should be moved to x86 arch code so that more arches (ie
> >ARM64) can benefit from the generic ACPI resources parsing interface
> >without incurring in unexpected resource filtering, fixing at the same
> >time current breakage on IA64.
> >
> >This patch moves the IO ports boundary [0 - 64k] check to x86 arch code
> >code that validates the PCI host bridge resources.
> >
> >Fixes: 3772aea7d6f3 ("ia64/PCI/ACPI: Use common ACPI resource parsing
> >interface for host bridge")
> >Signed-off-by: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
> >Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
> >Cc: Hanjun Guo <hanjun.guo@linaro.org>
> >Cc: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@linux.intel.com>
> >Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
> >Cc: Tomasz Nowicki <tn@semihalf.com>
> >Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
> >Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
> >---
> > arch/x86/pci/acpi.c | 18 +++++++++++++-----
> > drivers/acpi/resource.c | 3 ---
> > 2 files changed, 13 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)
> >
> >diff --git a/arch/x86/pci/acpi.c b/arch/x86/pci/acpi.c
> >index 3cd6983..e20dbe5 100644
> >--- a/arch/x86/pci/acpi.c
> >+++ b/arch/x86/pci/acpi.c
> >@@ -275,11 +275,14 @@ static void pci_acpi_root_release_info(struct acpi_pci_root_info *ci)
> > * to access PCI configuration space.
> > *
> > * So explicitly filter out PCI CFG IO ports[0xCF8-0xCFF].
> >+ *
> >+ * Furthermore, IO ports address space is limited to 16k on x86,
>
> Minor typo for '16k', should be '64k'? or we can just specify
> the magic number 0x10003?
>
> By the way, I tested this patch both on x86 and ia64 box,
> and PCI for both box is working properly after boot,
>
> Tested-by: Hanjun Guo <hanjun.guo@linaro.org>

Any comment on this patch ? It actually fixes IO space on IA64
as described in the commit log, it would be good if IA64 folks
can confirm.

I need to update a comment but would like to check first if the fix
itself is ok.

Thanks a lot,
Lorenzo

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-02-09 16:01    [W:0.076 / U:16.720 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site