lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Oct]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 3.12 3/5] brcmfmac: avoid potential stack overflow in brcmf_cfg80211_start_ap()
Date
From: Arend Van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com>

3.12-stable review patch. If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

===============

commit ded89912156b1a47d940a0c954c43afbabd0c42c upstream.

User-space can choose to omit NL80211_ATTR_SSID and only provide raw
IE TLV data. When doing so it can provide SSID IE with length exceeding
the allowed size. The driver further processes this IE copying it
into a local variable without checking the length. Hence stack can be
corrupted and used as exploit.

Reported-by: Daxing Guo <freener.gdx@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Hante Meuleman <hante.meuleman@broadcom.com>
Reviewed-by: Pieter-Paul Giesberts <pieter-paul.giesberts@broadcom.com>
Reviewed-by: Franky Lin <franky.lin@broadcom.com>
Signed-off-by: Arend van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com>
Signed-off-by: Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>
Acked-by: Benjamin Poirier <bpoirier@suse.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
---
drivers/net/wireless/brcm80211/brcmfmac/wl_cfg80211.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/wireless/brcm80211/brcmfmac/wl_cfg80211.c b/drivers/net/wireless/brcm80211/brcmfmac/wl_cfg80211.c
index 571f013cebbb..f2e245bc4520 100644
--- a/drivers/net/wireless/brcm80211/brcmfmac/wl_cfg80211.c
+++ b/drivers/net/wireless/brcm80211/brcmfmac/wl_cfg80211.c
@@ -3731,7 +3731,7 @@ brcmf_cfg80211_start_ap(struct wiphy *wiphy, struct net_device *ndev,
(u8 *)&settings->beacon.head[ie_offset],
settings->beacon.head_len - ie_offset,
WLAN_EID_SSID);
- if (!ssid_ie)
+ if (!ssid_ie || ssid_ie->len > IEEE80211_MAX_SSID_LEN)
return -EINVAL;

memcpy(ssid_le.SSID, ssid_ie->data, ssid_ie->len);
--
2.10.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-10-20 10:49    [W:0.071 / U:6.436 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site