lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Sep]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 28/31] perf probe: Init symbol as kprobe
Em Sat, Aug 29, 2015 at 04:22:02AM +0000, Wang Nan escreveu:
> Before this patch, add_perf_probe_events() init symbol maps only for
> uprobe if the first 'struct perf_probe_event' passed to it is a uprobe
> event. This is a trick because 'perf probe''s command line syntax
> constrains the first elements of the probe_event arrays must be kprobes
> if there is one kprobe there.
>
> However, with the incoming BPF uprobe support, that constrain is not
> hold since 'perf record' will also probe on k/u probes through BPF
> object, and is possible to pass an array with kprobe but the first
> element is uprobe.
>
> This patch init symbol maps for kprobes even if all of events are
> uprobes, because the extra cost should be small enough.

Masami, are you Ok with this one?

- Arnaldo

> Signed-off-by: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>
> Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@plumgrid.com>
> Cc: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@gmail.com>
> Cc: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
> Cc: He Kuang <hekuang@huawei.com>
> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
> Cc: Kaixu Xia <xiakaixu@huawei.com>
> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>
> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
> Cc: Zefan Li <lizefan@huawei.com>
> Cc: pi3orama@163.com
> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/1436445342-1402-39-git-send-email-wangnan0@huawei.com
> ---
> tools/perf/util/probe-event.c | 2 +-
> 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/tools/perf/util/probe-event.c b/tools/perf/util/probe-event.c
> index e720913..b94a8d7 100644
> --- a/tools/perf/util/probe-event.c
> +++ b/tools/perf/util/probe-event.c
> @@ -2789,7 +2789,7 @@ int add_perf_probe_events(struct perf_probe_event *pevs, int npevs,
> {
> int i, ret;
>
> - ret = init_symbol_maps(pevs->uprobes);
> + ret = init_symbol_maps(false);
> if (ret < 0)
> return ret;
>
> --
> 2.1.0


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-09-01 22:41    [W:0.344 / U:4.268 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site