lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [May]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:sched/core] sched/numa: Document usages of mm->numa_scan_seq
Commit-ID:  7e5a2c1729f1612618ed236249a15bf15f309325
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/7e5a2c1729f1612618ed236249a15bf15f309325
Author: Jason Low <jason.low2@hp.com>
AuthorDate: Thu, 30 Apr 2015 17:28:14 -0700
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Fri, 8 May 2015 12:13:13 +0200

sched/numa: Document usages of mm->numa_scan_seq

The p->mm->numa_scan_seq is accessed using READ_ONCE/WRITE_ONCE
and modified without exclusive access. It is not clear why it is
accessed this way. This patch provides some documentation on that.

Suggested-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Jason Low <jason.low2@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Aswin Chandramouleeswaran <aswin@hp.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <umgwanakikbuti@gmail.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Preeti U Murthy <preeti@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Scott J Norton <scott.norton@hp.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Waiman Long <waiman.long@hp.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1430440094.2475.61.camel@j-VirtualBox
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/sched/fair.c | 13 +++++++++++++
1 file changed, 13 insertions(+)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index d6915a0..f18ddb7 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -1794,6 +1794,11 @@ static void task_numa_placement(struct task_struct *p)
u64 runtime, period;
spinlock_t *group_lock = NULL;

+ /*
+ * The p->mm->numa_scan_seq field gets updated without
+ * exclusive access. Use READ_ONCE() here to ensure
+ * that the field is read in a single access:
+ */
seq = READ_ONCE(p->mm->numa_scan_seq);
if (p->numa_scan_seq == seq)
return;
@@ -2107,6 +2112,14 @@ void task_numa_fault(int last_cpupid, int mem_node, int pages, int flags)

static void reset_ptenuma_scan(struct task_struct *p)
{
+ /*
+ * We only did a read acquisition of the mmap sem, so
+ * p->mm->numa_scan_seq is written to without exclusive access
+ * and the update is not guaranteed to be atomic. That's not
+ * much of an issue though, since this is just used for
+ * statistical sampling. Use READ_ONCE/WRITE_ONCE, which are not
+ * expensive, to avoid any form of compiler optimizations:
+ */
WRITE_ONCE(p->mm->numa_scan_seq, READ_ONCE(p->mm->numa_scan_seq) + 1);
p->mm->numa_scan_offset = 0;
}

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-05-08 15:41    [W:0.091 / U:5.244 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site