lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [May]   [31]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [tip:locking/core] locking/pvqspinlock, x86: Implement the paravirt qspinlock call patching
On 05/30/2015 12:09 AM, Sasha Levin wrote:
> On 05/08/2015 09:27 AM, tip-bot for Peter Zijlstra (Intel) wrote:
>> Commit-ID: f233f7f1581e78fd9b4023f2e7d8c1ed89020cc9
>> Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/f233f7f1581e78fd9b4023f2e7d8c1ed89020cc9
>> Author: Peter Zijlstra (Intel)<peterz@infradead.org>
>> AuthorDate: Fri, 24 Apr 2015 14:56:38 -0400
>> Committer: Ingo Molnar<mingo@kernel.org>
>> CommitDate: Fri, 8 May 2015 12:37:09 +0200
>>
>> locking/pvqspinlock, x86: Implement the paravirt qspinlock call patching
>>
>> We use the regular paravirt call patching to switch between:
>>
>> native_queued_spin_lock_slowpath() __pv_queued_spin_lock_slowpath()
>> native_queued_spin_unlock() __pv_queued_spin_unlock()
>>
>> We use a callee saved call for the unlock function which reduces the
>> i-cache footprint and allows 'inlining' of SPIN_UNLOCK functions
>> again.
>>
>> We further optimize the unlock path by patching the direct call with a
>> "movb $0,%arg1" if we are indeed using the native unlock code. This
>> makes the unlock code almost as fast as the !PARAVIRT case.
>>
>> This significantly lowers the overhead of having
>> CONFIG_PARAVIRT_SPINLOCKS enabled, even for native code.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel)<peterz@infradead.org>
>> Signed-off-by: Waiman Long<Waiman.Long@hp.com>
>> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel)<peterz@infradead.org>
>> Cc: Andrew Morton<akpm@linux-foundation.org>
>> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky<boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
>> Cc: Borislav Petkov<bp@alien8.de>
>> Cc: Daniel J Blueman<daniel@numascale.com>
>> Cc: David Vrabel<david.vrabel@citrix.com>
>> Cc: Douglas Hatch<doug.hatch@hp.com>
>> Cc: H. Peter Anvin<hpa@zytor.com>
>> Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk<konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
>> Cc: Linus Torvalds<torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
>> Cc: Oleg Nesterov<oleg@redhat.com>
>> Cc: Paolo Bonzini<paolo.bonzini@gmail.com>
>> Cc: Paul E. McKenney<paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
>> Cc: Peter Zijlstra<peterz@infradead.org>
>> Cc: Raghavendra K T<raghavendra.kt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
>> Cc: Rik van Riel<riel@redhat.com>
>> Cc: Scott J Norton<scott.norton@hp.com>
>> Cc: Thomas Gleixner<tglx@linutronix.de>
>> Cc: virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org
>> Cc: xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org
>> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1429901803-29771-10-git-send-email-Waiman.Long@hp.com
>> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar<mingo@kernel.org>
> Hey Peter,
>
> I'm seeing this on the latest -next kernel:
>
> [ 8693.503262] BUG: KASan: out of bounds access in __pv_queued_spin_lock_slowpath+0x84e/0x8c0 at addr ffffffffb9495950
> [ 8693.503271] Read of size 8 by task swapper/9/0
> [ 8693.503289] Address belongs to variable pv_lock_ops+0x10/0x240

I would like to clarify what the message means. pv_locks_ops + 0x10
should be the pv_wait function pointer. Also the structure should be
just 32 bytes in size and so what does the "/0x240" mean?

Cheers,
Longman


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-05-31 20:41    [W:0.079 / U:32.756 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site