lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Apr]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 3.4 172/176] ntp: Fixup adjtimex freq validation on 32-bit systems
Date
From: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

3.4.107-rc1 review patch. If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------


commit 29183a70b0b828500816bd794b3fe192fce89f73 upstream.

Additional validation of adjtimex freq values to avoid
potential multiplication overflows were added in commit
5e5aeb4367b (time: adjtimex: Validate the ADJ_FREQUENCY values)

Unfortunately the patch used LONG_MAX/MIN instead of
LLONG_MAX/MIN, which was fine on 64-bit systems, but being
much smaller on 32-bit systems caused false positives
resulting in most direct frequency adjustments to fail w/
EINVAL.

ntpd only does direct frequency adjustments at startup, so
the issue was not as easily observed there, but other time
sync applications like ptpd and chrony were more effected by
the bug.

See bugs:

https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=92481
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1188074

This patch changes the checks to use LLONG_MAX for
clarity, and additionally the checks are disabled
on 32-bit systems since LLONG_MAX/PPM_SCALE is always
larger then the 32-bit long freq value, so multiplication
overflows aren't possible there.

Reported-by: Josh Boyer <jwboyer@fedoraproject.org>
Reported-by: George Joseph <george.joseph@fairview5.com>
Tested-by: George Joseph <george.joseph@fairview5.com>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1423553436-29747-1-git-send-email-john.stultz@linaro.org
[ Prettified the changelog and the comments a bit. ]
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Zefan Li <lizefan@huawei.com>
---
kernel/time/ntp.c | 10 +++++++---
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/time/ntp.c b/kernel/time/ntp.c
index 7666b24..e32587e 100644
--- a/kernel/time/ntp.c
+++ b/kernel/time/ntp.c
@@ -660,10 +660,14 @@ int do_adjtimex(struct timex *txc)
return result;
}

- if (txc->modes & ADJ_FREQUENCY) {
- if (LONG_MIN / PPM_SCALE > txc->freq)
+ /*
+ * Check for potential multiplication overflows that can
+ * only happen on 64-bit systems:
+ */
+ if ((txc->modes & ADJ_FREQUENCY) && (BITS_PER_LONG == 64)) {
+ if (LLONG_MIN / PPM_SCALE > txc->freq)
return -EINVAL;
- if (LONG_MAX / PPM_SCALE < txc->freq)
+ if (LLONG_MAX / PPM_SCALE < txc->freq)
return -EINVAL;
}

--
1.9.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-04-09 11:41    [W:0.583 / U:0.260 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site