lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Apr]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3 16/17] video: fbdev: atmel_lcdfb: use ioremap_wc() for framebuffer
Le 21/04/2015 22:16, Luis R. Rodriguez a écrit :
> From: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@suse.com>
>
> The driver doesn't use mtrr_add() or arch_phys_wc_add() but
> since we know the framebuffer is isolated already on an
> ioremap() we can take advantage of write combining for
> performance where possible.
>
> In this case there are a few motivations for this:
>
> a) Take advantage of PAT when available
>
> b) Help with the goal of eventually using _PAGE_CACHE_UC over
> _PAGE_CACHE_UC_MINUS on x86 on ioremap_nocache() (see commit
> de33c442e titled "x86 PAT: fix performance drop for glx,
> use UC minus for ioremap(), ioremap_nocache() and
> pci_mmap_page_range()")
>
> Cc: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@atmel.com>

Seems okay:
Acked-by: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@atmel.com>

Thanks for having taking care of atmel_lcdfb driver.
Bye,


> Cc: Suresh Siddha <sbsiddha@gmail.com>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
> Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
> Cc: Antonino Daplas <adaplas@gmail.com>
> Cc: Jean-Christophe Plagniol-Villard <plagnioj@jcrosoft.com>
> Cc: Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ti.com>
> Cc: linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@suse.com>
> ---
> drivers/video/fbdev/atmel_lcdfb.c | 3 ++-
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/video/fbdev/atmel_lcdfb.c b/drivers/video/fbdev/atmel_lcdfb.c
> index 94a8d04..abadc49 100644
> --- a/drivers/video/fbdev/atmel_lcdfb.c
> +++ b/drivers/video/fbdev/atmel_lcdfb.c
> @@ -1266,7 +1266,8 @@ static int __init atmel_lcdfb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
> goto stop_clk;
> }
>
> - info->screen_base = ioremap(info->fix.smem_start, info->fix.smem_len);
> + info->screen_base = ioremap_wc(info->fix.smem_start,
> + info->fix.smem_len);
> if (!info->screen_base) {
> ret = -ENOMEM;
> goto release_intmem;
>


--
Nicolas Ferre


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-04-22 10:01    [W:0.132 / U:1.424 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site