lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Apr]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v3] fusion: remove dead MTRR code
Date
From: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@suse.com>

If and when this gets enabled the driver could should split
up IO memory space properly and that is quite a bit of work.
Just remove the uncommented dead MTRR code then.

There are a few motivations for this:

a) Take advantage of PAT when available

b) Help bury MTRR code away, MTRR is architecture specific and on
x86 its replaced by PAT

c) Help with the goal of eventually using _PAGE_CACHE_UC over
_PAGE_CACHE_UC_MINUS on x86 on ioremap_nocache() (see commit
de33c442e titled "x86 PAT: fix performance drop for glx,
use UC minus for ioremap(), ioremap_nocache() and
pci_mmap_page_range()")

Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Nagalakshmi Nandigama <nagalakshmi.nandigama@avagotech.com>
Cc: Praveen Krishnamoorthy <praveen.krishnamoorthy@avagotech.com>
Cc: Sreekanth Reddy <sreekanth.reddy@avagotech.com>
Cc: Abhijit Mahajan <abhijit.mahajan@avagotech.com>
Cc: linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Suresh Siddha <sbsiddha@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Cc: Antonino Daplas <adaplas@gmail.com>
Cc: Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ti.com>
Cc: Ville Syrjälä <syrjala@sci.fi>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de>
Cc: Jean-Christophe Plagniol-Villard <plagnioj@jcrosoft.com>
Cc: MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@avagotech.com
Cc: linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@suse.com>
---
drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.c | 24 ------------------------
drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.h | 1 -
2 files changed, 25 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.c b/drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.c
index 187f836..5dcc031 100644
--- a/drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.c
+++ b/drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.c
@@ -59,10 +59,6 @@
#include <linux/delay.h>
#include <linux/interrupt.h> /* needed for in_interrupt() proto */
#include <linux/dma-mapping.h>
-#include <asm/io.h>
-#ifdef CONFIG_MTRR
-#include <asm/mtrr.h>
-#endif
#include <linux/kthread.h>
#include <scsi/scsi_host.h>

@@ -2820,13 +2816,6 @@ mpt_adapter_dispose(MPT_ADAPTER *ioc)
pci_disable_device(ioc->pcidev);
pci_release_selected_regions(ioc->pcidev, ioc->bars);

-#if defined(CONFIG_MTRR) && 0
- if (ioc->mtrr_reg > 0) {
- mtrr_del(ioc->mtrr_reg, 0, 0);
- dprintk(ioc, printk(MYIOC_s_INFO_FMT "MTRR region de-registered\n", ioc->name));
- }
-#endif
-
/* Zap the adapter lookup ptr! */
list_del(&ioc->list);

@@ -4512,19 +4501,6 @@ PrimeIocFifos(MPT_ADAPTER *ioc)

ioc->req_frames_low_dma = (u32) (alloc_dma & 0xFFFFFFFF);

-#if defined(CONFIG_MTRR) && 0
- /*
- * Enable Write Combining MTRR for IOC's memory region.
- * (at least as much as we can; "size and base must be
- * multiples of 4 kiB"
- */
- ioc->mtrr_reg = mtrr_add(ioc->req_frames_dma,
- sz,
- MTRR_TYPE_WRCOMB, 1);
- dprintk(ioc, printk(MYIOC_s_DEBUG_FMT "MTRR region registered (base:size=%08x:%x)\n",
- ioc->name, ioc->req_frames_dma, sz));
-#endif
-
for (i = 0; i < ioc->req_depth; i++) {
alloc_dma += ioc->req_sz;
mem += ioc->req_sz;
diff --git a/drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.h b/drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.h
index 8f14090..813d463 100644
--- a/drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.h
+++ b/drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.h
@@ -671,7 +671,6 @@ typedef struct _MPT_ADAPTER
u8 *HostPageBuffer; /* SAS - host page buffer support */
u32 HostPageBuffer_sz;
dma_addr_t HostPageBuffer_dma;
- int mtrr_reg;
struct pci_dev *pcidev; /* struct pci_dev pointer */
int bars; /* bitmask of BAR's that must be configured */
int msi_enable;
--
2.3.2.209.gd67f9d5.dirty


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-04-21 23:21    [W:0.192 / U:3.024 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site