lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Apr]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v3 1/4] pci: add pci_ioremap_wc_bar()
Date
From: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@suse.com>

This lets drivers take advantage of PAT when available. This
should help with the transition of converting video drivers over
to ioremap_wc() to help with the goal of eventually using
_PAGE_CACHE_UC over _PAGE_CACHE_UC_MINUS on x86 on
ioremap_nocache() (de33c442e titled "x86 PAT: fix performance
drop for glx, use UC minus for ioremap(), ioremap_nocache() and
pci_mmap_page_range()")

Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com>
Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Cc: Suresh Siddha <sbsiddha@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Cc: Antonino Daplas <adaplas@gmail.com>
Cc: Jean-Christophe Plagniol-Villard <plagnioj@jcrosoft.com>
Cc: Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ti.com>
Cc: Ville Syrjälä <syrjala@sci.fi>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de>
Cc: linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@suse.com>
---
drivers/pci/pci.c | 14 ++++++++++++++
include/linux/pci.h | 1 +
2 files changed, 15 insertions(+)

diff --git a/drivers/pci/pci.c b/drivers/pci/pci.c
index 687af72..fd14f10 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/pci.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/pci.c
@@ -138,6 +138,20 @@ void __iomem *pci_ioremap_bar(struct pci_dev *pdev, int bar)
return ioremap_nocache(res->start, resource_size(res));
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(pci_ioremap_bar);
+
+void __iomem *pci_ioremap_wc_bar(struct pci_dev *pdev, int bar)
+{
+ /*
+ * Make sure the BAR is actually a memory resource, not an IO resource
+ */
+ if (!(pci_resource_flags(pdev, bar) & IORESOURCE_MEM)) {
+ WARN_ON(1);
+ return NULL;
+ }
+ return ioremap_wc(pci_resource_start(pdev, bar),
+ pci_resource_len(pdev, bar));
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(pci_ioremap_wc_bar);
#endif

#define PCI_FIND_CAP_TTL 48
diff --git a/include/linux/pci.h b/include/linux/pci.h
index bc50bb0..490ca41 100644
--- a/include/linux/pci.h
+++ b/include/linux/pci.h
@@ -1667,6 +1667,7 @@ static inline void pci_mmcfg_late_init(void) { }
int pci_ext_cfg_avail(void);

void __iomem *pci_ioremap_bar(struct pci_dev *pdev, int bar);
+void __iomem *pci_ioremap_wc_bar(struct pci_dev *pdev, int bar);

#ifdef CONFIG_PCI_IOV
int pci_iov_virtfn_bus(struct pci_dev *dev, int id);
--
2.3.2.209.gd67f9d5.dirty


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-04-21 23:01    [W:0.087 / U:2.668 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site