lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Apr]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2] firmware: dmi_scan: Fix ordering of product_uuid
On Fri, 17 Apr 2015 10:13:25 +0200, Jean Delvare wrote:
> In function dmi_present(), dmi_walk_early() calls dmi_table(), which
> calls dmi_decode(), which ultimately calls dmi_save_uuid(). This last
> function makes a decision based on the value of global variable
> dmi_ver. The problem is that this variable is set right _after_
> dmi_walk_early() returns. So dmi_save_uuid() always sees dmi_ver == 0
> regardless of the actual version implemented.
>
> This causes /sys/class/dmi/id/product_uuid to always use the old
> ordering even on systems implementing DMI/SMBIOS 2.6 or later, which
> should use the new ordering.
>
> This is broken since kernel v3.8 for legacy DMI implementations and
> since kernel v3.10 for SMBIOS 2 implementations. SMBIOS 3
> implementations with the 64-bit entry point are not affected.
>
> The first breakage does not matter much as in practice legacy DMI
> implementations are always for versions older than 2.6, which is when
> the UUID ordering changed. The second breakage is more problematic as
> it affects the vast majority of x86 systems manufactured since 2009.
>
> Signed-off-by: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de>
> Fixes: 9f9c9cbb6057 ("drivers/firmware/dmi_scan.c: fetch dmi version from SMBIOS if it exists")
> Fixes: 79bae42d51a5 ("dmi_scan: refactor dmi_scan_machine(), {smbios,dmi}_present()")
> Acked-by: Zhenzhong Duan <zhenzhong.duan@oracle.com>
> Cc: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
> Cc: Artem Savkov <artem.savkov@gmail.com>
> Cc: Ivan Khoronzhuk <ivan.khoronzhuk@linaro.org>
> Cc: Matt Fleming <matt.fleming@intel.com>
> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org [v3.10+]
> ---
> Changes since v1:
> * Rebased on torvalds/linux/master.

Bah, scratch that, I have come up with a different approach that will
make backporting this fix easier. Sorry for the noise.

--
Jean Delvare
SUSE L3 Support


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-04-17 11:21    [W:0.042 / U:0.544 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site