lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Apr]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Date
Subject[patch 03/10] perf_event_open.2: 4.1 PERF_EVENT_IOC_SET_BPF support

This manpage patch relates to the addition of the
PERF_EVENT_IOC_SET_BPF ioctl in the following commit:

commit 2541517c32be2531e0da59dfd7efc1ce844644f5
Author: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@plumgrid.com>

tracing, perf: Implement BPF programs attached to kprobes

Signed-off-by: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@plumgrid.com>
Reviewed-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Reviewed-by: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@infradead.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1427312966-8434-4-git-send-email-ast@plumgrid.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>


Signed-off-by: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>

diff --git a/man2/perf_event_open.2 b/man2/perf_event_open.2
index 01ee579..e08288e 100644
--- a/man2/perf_event_open.2
+++ b/man2/perf_event_open.2
@@ -2480,6 +2480,16 @@ This returns the event ID value for the given event file descriptor.

The argument is a pointer to a 64-bit unsigned integer
to hold the result.
+.TP
+.BR PERF_EVENT_IOC_SET_BPF " (since Linux 4.1)"
+.\" commit 2541517c32be2531e0da59dfd7efc1ce844644f5
+This allows attaching a Berkeley Packet Filter (BPF)
+program to an existing kprobe tracepoint event.
+
+The argument is a BPF program id that was created by
+a previous
+.BR bpf (2)
+system call.
.SS Using prctl
A process can enable or disable all the event groups that are
attached to it using the

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-04-16 20:21    [W:0.042 / U:0.052 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site