lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Apr]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 2/7] perf tools: Fix error path to do closedir() when synthesizing threads
Date
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

When traversing /proc to synthesize the PERF_RECORD_FORK et al events we
were bailing out on errors without calling closedir(), fix it.

Reported-by: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-vxtp593rfztgbi8noy0m967p@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/event.c | 17 +++++++++--------
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/event.c b/tools/perf/util/event.c
index 9d0985131252..ff866c4d2e2f 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/event.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/event.c
@@ -387,6 +387,7 @@ static int __event__synthesize_thread(union perf_event *comm_event,
DIR *tasks;
struct dirent dirent, *next;
pid_t tgid, ppid;
+ int rc = 0;

/* special case: only send one comm event using passed in pid */
if (!full) {
@@ -414,38 +415,38 @@ static int __event__synthesize_thread(union perf_event *comm_event,

while (!readdir_r(tasks, &dirent, &next) && next) {
char *end;
- int rc = 0;
pid_t _pid;

_pid = strtol(dirent.d_name, &end, 10);
if (*end)
continue;

+ rc = -1;
if (perf_event__prepare_comm(comm_event, _pid, machine,
&tgid, &ppid) != 0)
- return -1;
+ break;

if (perf_event__synthesize_fork(tool, fork_event, _pid, tgid,
ppid, process, machine) < 0)
- return -1;
+ break;
/*
* Send the prepared comm event
*/
if (process(tool, comm_event, &synth_sample, machine) != 0)
- return -1;
+ break;

+ rc = 0;
if (_pid == pid) {
/* process the parent's maps too */
rc = perf_event__synthesize_mmap_events(tool, mmap_event, pid, tgid,
process, machine, mmap_data);
+ if (rc)
+ break;
}
-
- if (rc)
- return rc;
}

closedir(tasks);
- return 0;
+ return rc;
}

int perf_event__synthesize_thread_map(struct perf_tool *tool,
--
1.9.3


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-04-11 00:21    [W:0.052 / U:1.948 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site