lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Apr]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] x86: Drop 32-bit support ... finally.
Date
From: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

Today, April 1st 2015, marks almost 15 years since the introduction of
the 64-bit extensions to the x86 architecture. And frankly, 15 years was
a graceful period enough for people to move to 64-bit. Therefore, today,
I'm removing 32-bit support from x86 Linux. And it was about friggin'
time...

32-bit code is old, full of nasty hacks and keeps always breaking when
we do our shiny new features for 64-bit. And frankly, no one cares
about 32-bit. If you do, then you're wrong and you need to get with the
program. Go out, take a deep breath, go for a walk and the first thing
you do when you come back is *take* *a* *look* at the goddam calendar.
Time to say goodbye to your old 32-bit sand. Get a 64-bit processor.
Live a little. Come to the real world.

This is a minimal patch which prevents from building a 32-bit kernel
only. Removing of the rest of the crazy ifdeffery and potential cleanups
needs to come later, in nice clean patches. This is especially true for
you, you patch count wankers. Restrain yourself!

Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Jörg Rödel <joro@8bytes.org>
Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Cc: Jeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Andre Przywara <andre@andrep.de>
Cc: Andreas Herrmann <herrmann.der.user@gmail.com>
Cc: Robert Richter <rric@kernel.org>
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
---
Makefile | 3 ---
arch/x86/Kconfig | 9 ++-------
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

diff --git a/Makefile b/Makefile
index da36a3be7969..0a907dd934b6 100644
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -256,9 +256,6 @@ UTS_MACHINE := $(ARCH)
SRCARCH := $(ARCH)

# Additional ARCH settings for x86
-ifeq ($(ARCH),i386)
- SRCARCH := x86
-endif
ifeq ($(ARCH),x86_64)
SRCARCH := x86
endif
diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index 8db84b0e5bbd..9fed79e3ed39 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -1,13 +1,8 @@
-# Select 32 or 64 bit
config 64BIT
- bool "64-bit kernel" if ARCH = "x86"
- default ARCH != "i386"
- ---help---
- Say yes to build a 64-bit kernel - formerly known as x86_64
- Say no to build a 32-bit kernel - formerly known as i386
+ def_bool y

config X86_32
- def_bool y
+ def_bool n
depends on !64BIT
select CLKSRC_I8253
select HAVE_UID16
--
2.3.3


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-04-01 11:01    [W:0.118 / U:23.112 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site