lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Mar]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:timers/core] timekeeping: Try to catch clocksource delta underflows
Commit-ID:  057b87e3161d1194a095718f9918c01b2c389e74
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/057b87e3161d1194a095718f9918c01b2c389e74
Author: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
AuthorDate: Wed, 11 Mar 2015 21:16:34 -0700
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Fri, 13 Mar 2015 08:07:05 +0100

timekeeping: Try to catch clocksource delta underflows

In the case where there is a broken clocksource
where there are multiple actual clocks that
aren't perfectly aligned, we may see small "negative"
deltas when we subtract 'now' from 'cycle_last'.

The values are actually negative with respect to the
clocksource mask value, not necessarily negative
if cast to a s64, but we can check by checking the
delta to see if it is a small (relative to the mask)
negative value (again negative relative to the mask).

If so, we assume we jumped backwards somehow and
instead use zero for our delta.

Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: Dave Jones <davej@codemonkey.org.uk>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1426133800-29329-7-git-send-email-john.stultz@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/time/timekeeping.c | 7 +++++++
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+)

diff --git a/kernel/time/timekeeping.c b/kernel/time/timekeeping.c
index 657414c..187149b 100644
--- a/kernel/time/timekeeping.c
+++ b/kernel/time/timekeeping.c
@@ -148,6 +148,13 @@ static inline cycle_t timekeeping_get_delta(struct tk_read_base *tkr)
/* calculate the delta since the last update_wall_time */
delta = clocksource_delta(cycle_now, tkr->cycle_last, tkr->mask);

+ /*
+ * Try to catch underflows by checking if we are seeing small
+ * mask-relative negative values.
+ */
+ if (unlikely((~delta & tkr->mask) < (tkr->mask >> 3)))
+ delta = 0;
+
/* Cap delta value to the max_cycles values to avoid mult overflows */
if (unlikely(delta > tkr->clock->max_cycles))
delta = tkr->clock->max_cycles;

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-03-13 10:21    [W:0.120 / U:7.436 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site