lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Feb]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:locking/core] locking/futex: Check PF_KTHREAD rather than !p->mm to filter out kthreads
Commit-ID:  a21294644623ee41034db60e93aaebed4db0e57b
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/a21294644623ee41034db60e93aaebed4db0e57b
Author: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 2 Feb 2015 15:05:36 +0100
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Wed, 18 Feb 2015 16:57:09 +0100

locking/futex: Check PF_KTHREAD rather than !p->mm to filter out kthreads

attach_to_pi_owner() checks p->mm to prevent attaching to kthreads and
this looks doubly wrong:

1. It should actually check PF_KTHREAD, kthread can do use_mm().

2. If this task is not kthread and it is actually the lock owner we can
wrongly return -EPERM instead of -ESRCH or retry-if-EAGAIN.

And note that this wrong EPERM is the likely case unless the exiting
task is (auto)reaped quickly, we check ->mm before PF_EXITING.

Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Darren Hart <darren@dvhart.com>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com>
Cc: Larry Woodman <lwoodman@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mateusz Guzik <mguzik@redhat.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20150202140536.GA26406@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/futex.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/futex.c b/kernel/futex.c
index 4eeb63d..1f6d646 100644
--- a/kernel/futex.c
+++ b/kernel/futex.c
@@ -900,7 +900,7 @@ static int attach_to_pi_owner(u32 uval, union futex_key *key,
if (!p)
return -ESRCH;

- if (!p->mm) {
+ if (unlikely(p->flags & PF_KTHREAD)) {
put_task_struct(p);
return -EPERM;
}

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-02-18 18:41    [W:0.131 / U:3.900 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site