lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Feb]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 06/21] perf symbols: Ignore mapping symbols on aarch64
Date
From: Victor Kamensky <victor.kamensky@linaro.org>

Aarch64 ELF files use mapping symbols with special names $x, $d
to identify regions of Aarch64 code (see Aarch64 ELF ABI - "ARM
IHI 0056B", section "4.5.4 Mapping symbols").

The patch filters out these symbols at load time, similar to
"696b97a perf symbols: Ignore mapping symbols on ARM" changes
done for ARM before V8.

Also added handling of mapping symbols that has format
"$d.<any>" and similar for both cases.

Note we are not making difference between EM_ARM and
EM_AARCH64 mapping symbols instead code handles superset
of both.

Signed-off-by: Victor Kamensky <victor.kamensky@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@cloudius-systems.com>
Cc: Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@arm.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1422340442-4673-2-git-send-email-victor.kamensky@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c | 7 +++----
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c b/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c
index b24f9d8727a8..225eb73ee78b 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c
@@ -859,10 +859,9 @@ int dso__load_sym(struct dso *dso, struct map *map,
/* Reject ARM ELF "mapping symbols": these aren't unique and
* don't identify functions, so will confuse the profile
* output: */
- if (ehdr.e_machine == EM_ARM) {
- if (!strcmp(elf_name, "$a") ||
- !strcmp(elf_name, "$d") ||
- !strcmp(elf_name, "$t"))
+ if (ehdr.e_machine == EM_ARM || ehdr.e_machine == EM_AARCH64) {
+ if (elf_name[0] == '$' && strchr("adtx", elf_name[1])
+ && (elf_name[2] == '\0' || elf_name[2] == '.'))
continue;
}

--
1.9.3


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-02-11 22:21    [W:0.140 / U:8.412 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site