lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Dec]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.3 081/125] arm64: page-align sections for DEBUG_RODATA
Date
4.3-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>

commit cb083816ab5ac3d10a9417527f07fc5962cc3808 upstream.

A kernel built with DEBUG_RO_DATA && !CONFIG_DEBUG_ALIGN_RODATA doesn't
have .text aligned to a page boundary, though fixup_executable works at
page-granularity thanks to its use of create_mapping. If .text is not
page-aligned, the first page it exists in may be marked non-executable,
leading to failures when an attempt is made to execute code in said
page.

This patch upgrades ALIGN_DEBUG_RO and ALIGN_DEBUG_RO_MIN to force page
alignment for DEBUG_RO_DATA && !CONFIG_DEBUG_ALIGN_RODATA kernels,
ensuring that all sections with specific RWX permission requirements are
mapped with the correct permissions.

Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Reported-by: Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@arm.com>
Reviewed-by: Laura Abbott <laura@labbott.name>
Acked-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Suzuki Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Fixes: da141706aea52c1a ("arm64: add better page protections to arm64")
Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/arm64/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S | 5 ++++-
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
@@ -60,9 +60,12 @@ PECOFF_FILE_ALIGNMENT = 0x200;
#define PECOFF_EDATA_PADDING
#endif

-#ifdef CONFIG_DEBUG_ALIGN_RODATA
+#if defined(CONFIG_DEBUG_ALIGN_RODATA)
#define ALIGN_DEBUG_RO . = ALIGN(1<<SECTION_SHIFT);
#define ALIGN_DEBUG_RO_MIN(min) ALIGN_DEBUG_RO
+#elif defined(CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA)
+#define ALIGN_DEBUG_RO . = ALIGN(1<<PAGE_SHIFT);
+#define ALIGN_DEBUG_RO_MIN(min) ALIGN_DEBUG_RO
#else
#define ALIGN_DEBUG_RO
#define ALIGN_DEBUG_RO_MIN(min) . = ALIGN(min);



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-12-07 16:41    [W:0.328 / U:0.812 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site