lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Nov]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] mm, dax: fix DAX deadlocks (COW fault)
Date
DAX handling of COW faults has wrong locking sequence:
dax_fault does i_mmap_lock_read
do_cow_fault does i_mmap_unlock_write

Ross's commit[1] missed a fix[2] that Kirill added to Matthew's
commit[3].

Original COW locking logic was introduced by Matthew here[4].

This should be applied to v4.3 as well.

[1] 0f90cc6609c7 mm, dax: fix DAX deadlocks
[2] 52a2b53ffde6 mm, dax: use i_mmap_unlock_write() in do_cow_fault()
[3] 843172978bb9 dax: fix race between simultaneous faults
[4] 2e4cdab0584f mm: allow page fault handlers to perform the COW

Signed-off-by: Yigal Korman <yigal@plexistor.com>

Cc: Stable Tree <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Boaz Harrosh <boaz@plexistor.com>
Cc: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com>
---
mm/memory.c | 8 ++++----
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/memory.c b/mm/memory.c
index c716913..e5071af 100644
--- a/mm/memory.c
+++ b/mm/memory.c
@@ -3015,9 +3015,9 @@ static int do_cow_fault(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
} else {
/*
* The fault handler has no page to lock, so it holds
- * i_mmap_lock for write to protect against truncate.
+ * i_mmap_lock for read to protect against truncate.
*/
- i_mmap_unlock_write(vma->vm_file->f_mapping);
+ i_mmap_unlock_read(vma->vm_file->f_mapping);
}
goto uncharge_out;
}
@@ -3031,9 +3031,9 @@ static int do_cow_fault(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
} else {
/*
* The fault handler has no page to lock, so it holds
- * i_mmap_lock for write to protect against truncate.
+ * i_mmap_lock for read to protect against truncate.
*/
- i_mmap_unlock_write(vma->vm_file->f_mapping);
+ i_mmap_unlock_read(vma->vm_file->f_mapping);
}
return ret;
uncharge_out:
--
1.9.3


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-11-16 13:21    [W:0.048 / U:1.856 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site