lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Oct]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/core] perf tools: Show tool command line options ordered
Commit-ID:  869c55b0f473fecfe6c294c6fa965dedfe469e02
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/869c55b0f473fecfe6c294c6fa965dedfe469e02
Author: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
AuthorDate: Fri, 23 Oct 2015 11:23:28 -0300
Committer: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
CommitDate: Fri, 23 Oct 2015 21:50:49 -0300

perf tools: Show tool command line options ordered

When asking for a listing of the options, be it using -h or when an
unknown option is passed, order it by one-letter options, then the ones
having just long names.

Suggested-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@gmail.com>
Cc: Chandler Carruth <chandlerc@gmail.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-41qh68t35n4ehrpsuazp1dx8@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/parse-options.c | 48 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 48 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/parse-options.c b/tools/perf/util/parse-options.c
index 8aa7922..fb26532 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/parse-options.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/parse-options.c
@@ -2,6 +2,7 @@
#include "parse-options.h"
#include "cache.h"
#include "header.h"
+#include <linux/string.h>

#define OPT_SHORT 1
#define OPT_UNSET 2
@@ -642,9 +643,50 @@ static void print_option_help(const struct option *opts, int full)
fprintf(stderr, "%*s%s\n", pad + USAGE_GAP, "", opts->help);
}

+static int option__cmp(const void *va, const void *vb)
+{
+ const struct option *a = va, *b = vb;
+ int sa = tolower(a->short_name), sb = tolower(b->short_name), ret;
+
+ if (sa == 0)
+ sa = 'z' + 1;
+ if (sb == 0)
+ sb = 'z' + 1;
+
+ ret = sa - sb;
+
+ if (ret == 0) {
+ const char *la = a->long_name ?: "",
+ *lb = b->long_name ?: "";
+ ret = strcmp(la, lb);
+ }
+
+ return ret;
+}
+
+static struct option *options__order(const struct option *opts)
+{
+ int nr_opts = 0;
+ const struct option *o = opts;
+ struct option *ordered;
+
+ for (o = opts; o->type != OPTION_END; o++)
+ ++nr_opts;
+
+ ordered = memdup(opts, sizeof(*o) * (nr_opts + 1));
+ if (ordered == NULL)
+ goto out;
+
+ qsort(ordered, nr_opts, sizeof(*o), option__cmp);
+out:
+ return ordered;
+}
+
int usage_with_options_internal(const char * const *usagestr,
const struct option *opts, int full)
{
+ struct option *ordered;
+
if (!usagestr)
return PARSE_OPT_HELP;

@@ -661,11 +703,17 @@ int usage_with_options_internal(const char * const *usagestr,
if (opts->type != OPTION_GROUP)
fputc('\n', stderr);

+ ordered = options__order(opts);
+ if (ordered)
+ opts = ordered;
+
for ( ; opts->type != OPTION_END; opts++)
print_option_help(opts, full);

fputc('\n', stderr);

+ free(ordered);
+
return PARSE_OPT_HELP;
}


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-10-25 10:21    [W:0.032 / U:1.160 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site