lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Jan]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject[RFC 0/3] perf tools: Adding xz decompression support
Date
hi,
adding support for decompression *.xz objects.

However I'm not sure the way we have now is optimal. For example
the annotation does not work on compressed modules at the moment.

Currently we detect 'supported' suffixes for kernel modules and
update the dso::symtab_type. This info then triggers decompression
of the object when we need the its file descriptor in symsrc__init.

I'm thinking of some generic encapsulation of the decompression,
because it's clearly needed on more places (annotation). I'll try
to come up with som patches, but wanted to hear some ideas first.

Current work available at:
git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/jolsa/perf.git
perf/lzma

thanks,
jirka


Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Corey Ashford <cjashfor@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Josh Stone <jistone@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
---
Jiri Olsa (3):
perf tools: Update symtab_type with _KMODULE_COMP
perf tools: Add feature check for lzma library
perf tools: Add lzma decompression support for kernel module

tools/perf/Makefile.perf | 8 +++++++-
tools/perf/config/Makefile | 15 ++++++++++++--
tools/perf/config/feature-checks/Makefile | 6 +++++-
tools/perf/config/feature-checks/test-lzma.c | 9 +++++++++
tools/perf/util/dso.c | 3 +++
tools/perf/util/lzma.c | 95 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
tools/perf/util/machine.c | 9 ++++++++-
tools/perf/util/util.h | 4 ++++
8 files changed, 144 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)
create mode 100644 tools/perf/config/feature-checks/test-lzma.c
create mode 100644 tools/perf/util/lzma.c


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-01-30 11:41    [W:0.037 / U:0.516 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site