lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Jan]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 1/2] perf symbols: Ignore mapping symbols on aarch64
Date
Aarch64 ELF files use mapping symbols with special names $x, $d
to identify regions of Aarch64 code (see Aarch64 ELF ABI - "ARM
IHI 0056B", section "4.5.4 Mapping symbols").

The patch filters out these symbols at load time, similar to
"696b97a perf symbols: Ignore mapping symbols on ARM" changes
done for ARM before V8.

Signed-off-by: Victor Kamensky <victor.kamensky@linaro.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@cloudius-systems.com>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>
Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@arm.com>
---
tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c | 8 ++++++++
1 file changed, 8 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c b/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c
index 06fcd1b..1e188dd 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/symbol-elf.c
@@ -862,6 +862,14 @@ int dso__load_sym(struct dso *dso, struct map *map,
!strcmp(elf_name, "$t"))
continue;
}
+ /* Reject Aarch64 ELF "mapping symbols": these aren't unique and
+ * don't identify functions, so will confuse the profile
+ * output: */
+ if (ehdr.e_machine == EM_AARCH64) {
+ if (!strcmp(elf_name, "$x") ||
+ !strcmp(elf_name, "$d"))
+ continue;
+ }

if (runtime_ss->opdsec && sym.st_shndx == runtime_ss->opdidx) {
u32 offset = sym.st_value - syms_ss->opdshdr.sh_addr;
--
1.9.3


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-01-13 18:21    [W:0.097 / U:1.140 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site