lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2014]   [Apr]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 3.4 006/134] compiler-gcc.h: Add gcc-recommended GCC_VERSION macro
Date
3.4-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Daniel Santos <daniel.santos@pobox.com>

commit 3f3f8d2f48acfd8ed3b8e6b7377935da57b27b16 upstream.

Throughout compiler*.h, many version checks are made. These can be
simplified by using the macro that gcc's documentation recommends.
However, my primary reason for adding this is that I need bug-check
macros that are enabled at certain gcc versions and it's cleaner to use
this macro than the tradition method:

#if __GNUC__ > 4 || (__GNUC__ == 4 && __GNUC_MINOR__ => 2)

If you add patch level, it gets this ugly:

#if __GNUC__ > 4 || (__GNUC__ == 4 && (__GNUC_MINOR__ > 2 || \
__GNUC_MINOR__ == 2 __GNUC_PATCHLEVEL__ >= 1))

As opposed to:

#if GCC_VERSION >= 40201

While having separate headers for gcc 3 & 4 eliminates some of this
verbosity, they can still be cleaned up by this.

See also:

http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/cpp/Common-Predefined-Macros.html

Signed-off-by: Daniel Santos <daniel.santos@pobox.com>
Acked-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Cc: Qiang Huang <h.huangqiang@huawei.com>
Cc: Li Zefan <lizefan@huawei.com>
Cc: Jianguo Wu <wujianguo@huawei.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
include/linux/compiler-gcc.h | 3 +++
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)

--- a/include/linux/compiler-gcc.h
+++ b/include/linux/compiler-gcc.h
@@ -5,6 +5,9 @@
/*
* Common definitions for all gcc versions go here.
*/
+#define GCC_VERSION (__GNUC__ * 10000 \
+ + __GNUC_MINOR__ * 100 \
+ + __GNUC_PATCHLEVEL__)


/* Optimization barrier */



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2014-04-10 08:01    [W:0.300 / U:9.708 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site